Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Spalding's great comeback in 1995

Spalding Rugby Club completed a remarkable season in the Courage League East Division 1 25 years ago with a hard-fought 9-3victory over Kettering.

From bottom of the table before Christmas, they leapfrogged their opponents to finish in third place and also won the Lincolnshire Knockout Trophy.

Team: Standing – Ian Shakespeare, Andrew Owen, Paddy Wheeler,Martin Luke, Steve Machin, Nigel Cooke, Nick Birdseye, Robin Exley, Bill Vance (coach); sitting – Alan Aistrup, Dave Bell, Andy Ellis, Peter Sly, Tim Davies (Captain), Martin Beecham, Richard Naylor, Tim Stray and Kevin Wand.

Spalding Rugby Club's 1995 county champions (33485737)
Spalding Rugby Club's 1995 county champions (33485737)


Familiar faces as Holbeach won the cup 25 years ago

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More