SPALDING RFC: Season ends with heavy defeat

Share this article
Have your say

COALVILLE RFC 43 SPALDING RFC 17: TOWN concluded their debut Midlands One East campaign with a heavy beating.

Having endured a tough time of it away from home all season, it was perhaps no surprise that Spalding slumped to a tenth defeat from 13 games on the road.

Coalville, who went into the game four places above Town, kicked off on a very warm afternoon with the slope in their favour.

After a cagey opening, the away side were dealt a blow when winger Ollie Phillips fell awkwardly and sustained an injury to his leg. He was replaced by George Brown.

Coalville then broke the deadlock with an unconverted score from their winger.

A copycat move on the opposite wing then made it 10-0 to the hosts.

Spalding hit back though, as Joel Riddle knocked over a couple of the opposition players before passing out to Dave Hankinson, who touched down under the posts and converted himself.

Hankinson then kicked a penalty to draw the scores level two minutes before the line.

Immediately from the re-start Coalville were determined to make amends and they breeched the Spalding defence to score under the posts, leaving their kicker an easy conversion.

After the break the home-side scored twice more in the next 15 minutes, with one being converted.

Then after considerable pressure from the Spalding pack and totally against the run of play, a Coalville player intercepted the ball and ran the length of the field to score.

Town did get some reward for their efforts, as stand-in skipper Rob Lucas set up George Brown for a converted score.

But Coalville had the last word with another converted try in the dying seconds.

It all adds up to an 11th-placed finish for Harry Sharman’s charges - who will be satisfied with their efforts.

Spalding RFC: Rob Lucas (captain), Pete Waudby, Jacob Harwood, Peter Shakespeare, Mark Haighton, Joel Riddle, Tom Duerden, Ash Anker, Ed Duerden, Dave Hankinson, Ollie Phillips, Sion Williams, Ben Williamson, Ryan Chappell, JD Charlton, Jimmy Rowlands, Harry Brown, George Brown.