Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Spalding and Long Sutton will lock Rutland League horns again

Spalding and Long Sutton are set to lock horns again this season as part of the 40 teams competing in the Rutland Cricket League.

The duo will both be playing in Division Three for the coming campaign while Moulton Harrox will again be fielding a side in Division Four.

Sutton finished top of Division Three last season but, due to the severely shortened campaign due to the coronavirus pandemic, there were no promotions or relegations.

Spalding batting against Oakham 2nd in the Rutland League last season.
Spalding batting against Oakham 2nd in the Rutland League last season.

Market Deeping will again be flying the flag for south Lincolnshire in the top flight with Bourne in Division Two.

The Sunday competition will feature five divisions with 32 clubs represented from Rutland and the neighbouring counties of Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Cambridgeshire and Northamptonshire.

The divisional set up was agreed at the recent successful virtual annual meeting and the fixtures are currently being finalised as league organisers look ahead to a full season of cricket which is due to start at the end of April.

Division One: Barnack, Burghley Park, Kings Keys, March Town, Market Deeping, Peterborough Town, Uffington, Wisbech Town.

Division Two: Bourne, Huntingdon, Newborough, Oakham, Stamford, Ufford Park, Uppingham, Werrington, Whittlesey.

Division Three: Castor & Ailsworth, Hampton, Ketton Sports, Long Sutton, Nassington, Oakham 2nds, Spalding, Werrington 2nds.

Division Four East: Castor & Ailsworth 2nds, Long Sutton 2nds, Market Deeping 2nds, Moulton Harrox, Newborough 2nds, Peterborough Town 2nds, Uffington 2nds, Ufford Park 2nds, Wisbech Town 2nds.

Division Four West: Benefield, East Carlton, Kimbolton, Laxton Park, Orton Park, Sawtry, Upwood, Weldon.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More