Plenty to celebrate at Nene Valley Harriers

Nene Valley Harriers prize winners
Nene Valley Harriers prize winners
Have your say

Nene Valley Harriers held their annual presentation evening on Saturday to celebrate one of the club’s most successful seasons since being founded in April 1977.

The highlight of the year was probably the outstanding achievement in lifting the Southern Athletics League 
title after a competition which features more than 100 clubs across the south of England.

Prizes were awarded for individual successes and Cat Foley-Wray was a deserved winner of the Mike Barnsdale 
Cup for the the best cross country performance of the year, finishing ninth in the South of England Championship in January.

Flo Brill was nominated after a stellar season which saw her run the fastest leg of the day in the under-13 age group at the English Cross Country Relays.

The Presidents Cup was awarded to 15-year-old shot putter Hannah Molyneaux whose victories include the English Schools Championships and the National Championship, both indoors and outdoors, in her age group.

The Geoff Capes-coached youngster also leads the all-time national rankings as an under-15 with a throw of 13.27.

Sprinter Dave Brown led the way for the veterans by becoming a world record holder as part of the Great Britain 4x400 over-40s team at the World Veterans Track and Field Championship.

Presentation winners:

Track – U/11G Ruby Kilroy, U/11B Charlie Molyneaux, U/13G Jose Downer, U/13B Matt Church, U/15G Hannah Molyneaux, U/15B William Hughes, U/17L Rosie Fresen, U/17M Oliver Bowling, U/20L Rosie Jacobs, U/20M Max Butler, Sl Emily Maltby, Sm Daz Holding, Vet L Andrea Jenkins Vet M Dave Brown.

Road – U/13G Katie Tasker, U/13B Sam Oakley, U/15G Amelia Monaghan, U/15B Ethan Ellison, U/17L Megan Ellison, U/17M Oliver Bowling, U/20L Chloe Pavey, U/20M Alex Hampson, SL Phillipa Taylor, SM Lloyd Kempson, Vet L Louise Blake, Vet M Sean Beard.

Marathon – Tracey McCartney.

Cross Country – U/11G Lottie Hemmings, U/11B Freddie House, U/13G Flo Brill, U/13B Sam Oakley, U/15G Josephine Fortune, U/15B Ethan Ellison,U/17G Megan Ellison, U/17B Oliver Bowling, U/20G Chloe Pavey, U/20M James McCrae, SL Cat Foley-Wray, SM Lloyd Kempson, Vet L Nicky Morgan, Vet O/40 Sean Beard, Vet O/45 Paul Parkin.

Special Needs Female – Rebecca Richardson.

Special Needs Male – Jamie Busby-Maison.

Unsung Hero – Ann Marie Wilson.

Club Female – Megan Pusey.

Club Male – Issac Huskisson.

Mike Barnsdale Trophy – Cat Foley-Wray.

Presidents Cup – Hannah Molyneaux.