SNOOKER: Stylish Sutton D take title with ton

Share this article
Have your say

LONG Sutton D brought up a century of points for the season as they sealed the Spalding and District League Division Two title in superb style.

With Holbeach D also harbouring title hopes, a 5-1 win over Boundary A on their own baize was enough for Sutton, who finish on a mammoth 101 points from their 26 games.

The crucial wins came from Paul Turnell (scr), Pete Holland (O7), John Dawson (O28) and Tom Turner (O7).

Holbeach D did their bit with a 4-2 success at Whittlesey A, but needed Sutton to slip up to have any chance of the title. Andrew Blythe (O7) made a 22 clearance for Whittlesey, who finish bottom.

Two other titles were decided on the final night of the season, with Services A taking the Division Three crown after an anxious wait.

Having finished their season the previous week, only a maximum win from Consti H could have denied them.

Consti did deliver a 5-1 victory at Bourne SC, Seb Grimston (O28) making a 21 break, but they had to settle for second.

There was a twist in the Division Four title race, as Consti J pipped Whittlesey D to the post.

Leaders at the start of play, Whittlesey went down 4-2 against Consti D as Steve Moore (R7) won a crucial black ball game.

That left the door open for Consti J, who edged past Pyramid E 4-2 to take the title by a solitary point – with Stuart Davies’ (O14) black ball win proving crucial.

• Results: Division One – BSC B 4 Pyramid F 2; BSC A 6 Holbeach A 0; Donington A 1 Donington C 5; Services C 5 Pyramid A 1; Crowland C 1 Long Sutton A 5; Pyramid F 1 Pyramid D 5; Crowland D 4 Tulips A 2; Long Sutton B 6 BSC B 0. Division Two – Services B 1 Boundary B 5; Consti I 5 Consti B 1; Sutton D 5 Boundary A 1; Consti F 4 Gosberton A 2; Holbeach C 1 Consti F 5; Holbeach C 2 Whittlesey B 4; Pyramid C 2 Gosberton B 4; Whittlesey A 2 Holbeach D 4. Division Three – Bourne SC A 1 Consti H 5; Consti E 1 Whittlesey C 5; Boundary C 4 Crowland A 2; Tulips B 2 Crowland B 4; Consti G 5 Bourne SC C 1. Division Four – Consti D 2 Consti J 4; Whittlesey D 2 Consti D 4; Consti C 2 Bourne SC B 4; Donington D 4 Donington B 2; Consti A 2 Sutton C 4; Bourne SC B 4 Donington D 2; Gosberton C 1 Services D 5; Pyramid E 2 Consti J 4.