SNOOKER: Long Sutton’s Norey Cup joy

Nore Cup winners Long Sutton A: From left - Adam Barwell, captain Mick Cooper and Matt Smith.
Nore Cup winners Long Sutton A: From left - Adam Barwell, captain Mick Cooper and Matt Smith.
Have your say

THE top team trophy in Spalding and District Snooker League went to Long Sutton on Sunday.

The A team of Mick Cooper, Adam Barwell and Matt Smith proved too strong for Pyramid B in the final of the coveted Norey Cup.

Jason Green got the Bourne side off to a winning start but Cooper soon squared matters.

Barwell won both frames against Alfonso Palumbo before Smith wrapped up the 4-1 result.

Meanwhile, in the showpiece singles final Jason Bates, of Bourne Snooker Centre, got his hands back on the Scratch trophy.

After “loaning” it to Pyramid’s Jason Green for a year, Bates saw off Carl Parnell with ease to win the title for the seventh time.

Sunday’s final unfortunately never reached any great heights of competition as Bates waltzed to a 4-0 success.

He’s now been champion three of the past four seasons – and will go for a hat-trick of wins on the trot next year.

The team Knockout Cup headed to Bourne.

Pyramid F had secured the outcome against BSC A within three frames before Mike Sampson grabbed the Spalding side’s only success as they went down 4-1.

Elsewhere over finals weekend at Springfields Exhibition Centre in Spalding, there was pairs success for Dan and Rachel Mayfield (Long Sutton) and brothers Darren and Mark Woodberry. (BSC).

There will be a new name on the Ron Cooke Trophy for the ladies’ singles title.

Lisa Fitter – who knocked out the champion of the past three years, Tanya Peel, in the semi-finals – saw off Marian Lee.

And there was silverware too for Mike Small (Tulips) and Joe Garland (BSC) to go on the mantelpiece after wins in the Senior Masters and Handicap respectively.

Finals results: Scratch – Carl Parnell 0 Jason Bates 4; Handicap – Duane Atkinson 0 Joe Garland 2; Ladies – Marian Lee 0 Lisa Fitter 2; Norey Cup – Pyramid B 1 Long Sutton A 4; Knockout Cup – BSC A 1 Pyramid F 4; Senior Masters – Mike Small beat David Lefley; Mixed Pairs – Dan and Rachel Mayfield beat Colleen and Kevin Fitter; Pairs – Mark and Darren Woodberry beat Keith Duly and David Pearson.

League results: Division One – Crowland D 2 Crowland C 4; Tulips A 2 Long Sutton B 4; Donington C 1 BSC A 5; Crowland C 4 Donington A 2; Pyramid D 2 Services C 4; Pyramid A 2 Holbeach A 4.Division Two – Gosberton A 2 Holbeach C 4; Consti F 1 Whittlesey A 5; Holbeach D 5 Consti I 1; Whittlesey B 2 Long Sutton D 4; Gosberton B 5 Consti B 1; Boundary A 2 Services B 4; Boundary B 4 Pyramid C 2.

Division Three – Consti H 2 Consti E 4; Crowland B 1 Boundary C 5; Services A 4 Crowland A 2; Holbeach B 5 Tulips B 1.

Division Four – Consti A 1 Consti C 5; Consti A 2 Whittlesey D 4; Pyramid B 4 Gosberton C 2; Services D 2 Whittlesey D 4.