Slow pace for round four

Kayleigh Adams was the first club lady in the 10-mile TT round four.
Kayleigh Adams was the first club lady in the 10-mile TT round four.
Have your say

Event four of Spalding Cycling Club’s 10-mile Time Trial League event proved to be slowest night of the 2015 season so far with times often a minute or slower for most of the 19 members and nine guests competing.

Windy, cold and with a low sun right in the riders’ faces on the long trips down the Delph, the conditions really only favoured those with more power and a pair of sunglasses!

As ever the top places went to Neil Palmer and Chris Ward who both posted their slowest ‘10’ times of the season in 22.40 and 23.28 respectively while third place was taken by the ever-improving Mark Hills.

He stopped the clock on 27.46, just one second ahead of Ross McGivern whose 27.47 was just 27 seconds slower than his fastest time of the year.

Second Claim member Tom Neale, riding in his Catford CC Team colours, recorded 24.36 as fastest guest rider with J Durrin of Neon Velo in second on 25.18 and J Norman of Fenland Clarion with 26.21.

Spalding’s new members did well as Kayleigh Adams took the award for first lady, finishing in 29.00 for ninth overall while Clare Wookey was 14th in 33.14.

With both now full members the only guest lady was Louise Day. Her 28.17 would have put her in sixth place over all if club and guest results were combined.

The under-16s category had a different outcome as neither Jake Norton nor Matt Ellis were riding so top honours went to Will Gurney whose 31.53 was good enough for 11th overall in the club standings.

Gurney finished 2.59 ahead of fellow under-16 rider Tom Wright who along with ‘super vet’ Bill Woods tied for 15th overall in 34.52.

Sophie Wright, having had several close races against her brother in the previous weeks, just narrowly missed beating his time by finishing in 34.55.

The under-16 guests finished in the same order as round three, albeit on slower times – Bourne Wheelers Bryn Richards (30.15) and Molly Peel (35.55), Cam Neilson of Fenland Clarion (31.11).

Other times: Chris Peel 28.12, Andrew Gurney 28.19, Ben Richards, 28.31, B Heron, 28.33, Barry Drew 30.10, Geoff Hughes, 31.58, Brian Johnson, 32.41, Adrian Thurston 35.33, Max Bland 36.03, Tom Drew (Spalding Tri) 27.37, Gareth Richards (Bourne Wheelers) 27.56.