Personal best as Ben repeats win

PERSONAL BEST RIDE: Matt Ellis was first under-16 and second overall.
PERSONAL BEST RIDE: Matt Ellis was first under-16 and second overall.
Have your say

Heavy rain cleared away in time for Spalding Cycling Club’s first 10-mile time trial of the season.

Relatively warm and calm conditions dried the roads but the rain had washed a lot of debris into the road, especially in the corners.

Natasha Tooley

Natasha Tooley

A field of 28 – 22 members and six guests – took the start and given the conditions some fast times were posted, even though a little more caution was required in the corners.

Unfortunately for Velo-One’s Josh Wallis, a crash on a corner resulted in a broken collarbone that finished his race prematurely.

In the club standings Ben Moore repeated his 2015 win in 23:28 – a personal best performance and 1:20 quicker than last year’s time.

The first five placed riders in the ‘10’ were in the same order as they finished in the five-mile event.

Ross McGivern

Ross McGivern

Matt Ellis, riding as a second claim member in his Sherwood Pines SRAM RT kit, posted a PB 24:14 for second and first under-16.

Ross McGivern recorded 25:24 – soundly beating his 2015 time of 28:14.

Fourth-placed Simon Wright’s 25:37 came close to equalling his 2015 time of 25:35.

Another confirmed PB went to Mark Hills whose 25:47 was good enough for fifth overall.

Katie Wright

Katie Wright

First lady on the night, Natasha Tooley finished 11th with a fine 28:33 with Sarah Bentley second on 29:27 in 15th place overall while Nicole Flatters and Katie Wright recorded times of 34:27 and 36:19.

Flatters’ time beat her previous PB of 34:53 set in 2013.

It is believed that this was Wright’s first solo TT at 10 miles.

The only other under-16s, Tom and Sophie Wright, finished with 31:42 and 32:25 – both faster than their 2015 times.

Family representation was again a theme with the Wrights, Bentleys, Flatters and Ellis all competing.

Other club members times: Frazer Wallis 26:51, Andy Barnard 27:00, Derek Chamberlain 27:31, Gary Bentley 28:04, Bill Woods 35:08, Sam Bentley 28:20, Barry Drew 29:10, Matt Hill 29:23, David Thornley 29:26, Paul Kendall 30:53.

Guests put in some quick times with Chris Ward of Swift RT heading the leaderboard on 23:09, followed by Adam Ellis (Velo-One) 25:44, Maddie Gammons (RP Vision RT) 26:51 and fellow Bourne Wheeler Rex Stamp 28:30, just ahead of Swift RT’s Louise Day who finished with 28:34.