MOTORSPORT: Oldershaw is just champion

Title triumph: Robet Oldershaw at Brands Hatch
Title triumph: Robet Oldershaw at Brands Hatch
Have your say

OLDERSHAW Motorsport have won the 2011 Sports 2000 Duratec championship after the closest finish in history.

Moulton ace Robert Oldershaw trailed Mike Jenvey by 15 points going into the final weekend of the season at Brands Hatch – meaning he had to win the race with his rival failing to finish in order to take the title.

Neil Burroughs, an unregistered racer in the championship led the race from the off – but his position didn’t count towards the standings, meaning second place would count as a win.

Oldershaw took that place after diving up the inside of Jenvey at the tight Druids hairpin.

Incredibly, Jenvey was then forced to retire with a broken fan, leaving Oldershaw to claim an easy second place on the maximum haul of 15 points.

This left the duo level on points, but with Oldershaw having three wins against Jenvey’s two, Oldershaw Motorsport took the championship.