Moore leads way again in time trial

Richard Flatters
Richard Flatters
Share this article
Have your say

Round two of Spalding Cycling Club’s 10-mile time trial league proved fast and furious.

With sunny, dry conditions and assisted by a good tail-wind on the ride down the Delph, many riders in the 25-strong field posted personal bests – although not all were declared to race officials George Bellars, Sharon Fensom, Nicky Ellis and Jo Bellars.

Andy Bowser had a fine ride after illness

Andy Bowser had a fine ride after illness

Topping the results board again was Ben Moore – the only club member inside 23 minutes with a PB ride of 22:45 and 57 seconds faster than Andy Bowser who, after a period of illness, returned to competition with 23:42.

Ross McGivern took third place with a fine 24:46 PB ride.

Equalling his 25:11 set in 2015’s round 11 time trial, Simon Wright finished fourth overall while another PB went to Mark Hills with 25:20.

Fastest lady was Natasha Tooley whose 27:40 time was good enough for eighth overall in the club standings and believed to be a PB.

Sarah Bentley at the turn into Iron Bar Drive chased by Bourne Wheeler Gareth Richards.

Sarah Bentley at the turn into Iron Bar Drive chased by Bourne Wheeler Gareth Richards.

Sarah Bentley occupied 15th place overall for the second time, managing an equally consistent time just four seconds quicker than the previous week on 29:23.

The ladies podium was completed by Nicole Flatters in another PB time of 33:53.

Katie Wright, although slightly slower than the previous week, finished with 36:48 for another consistent ride.

The under-16s race was always going to be a surprise result.

Matt Hull - first time inside 29 minutes

Matt Hull - first time inside 29 minutes

With Matt Ellis and Jake Norton not present, the way was opened for Will Gurney to top the results board – posting a PB ride of 28:30 – his words after were “quietly pleased”.

Second-placed Matt Hull got inside 29 minutes with 28:54, believed to be a PB.

Sophie Wright’s 32:18 gained her one place in the overall standings, finishing in 17th and third in the under-16s event.

The time recorded by Ed Gurney in his first ‘10’ was a very creditable 37:43.

Derek Chamberlain and Frazer Wallis were separated by just one second with 26:47 and 26:48.

Richard Flatters, who sportingly gave up his ride last time to assist crash victim Josh Wallis, posted 28:08 being chased home hard by Gary Bentley in 28:17.

An improvement of 26 seconds to 28:44 for Barry Drew rewarded him with 12th place with David Thornley just behind on 28:53.

Finishing 16th overall on 29:42, Paul Kendall missed out on equalling his PB time of 29:17 set in 2014 – a great 
result after almost a year out of competition.

Completing the club members’ results, Bill Wood posted a faster ride time of 34:20.

Although the guest rider numbers were down, times were faster for all with Neil Palmer of Velo-One putting in the fastest time recorded on the night of 22:09 just ahead of Team Swift RT’s Chris Ward, who crossed the line on 22:30.

Bourne Wheelers’ Gareth Richards set himself a new PB of 26:02 while Rex Stamp took a huge 46 seconds off his 
previous week’s time of 28:30 to finish with 27:44.