GOLF: Third spot in Dubai is ‘a fabulous experience’

David Lord (left) and Rob Newns on the Jumeirah Earth Course practice putting green.
David Lord (left) and Rob Newns on the Jumeirah Earth Course practice putting green.
Have your say

Gedney Hill’s David Lord and Rob Newns finished third in the grand finals of the League to Dubai competition.

They qualified from the southern regional final held at Tudor Park Marriott Hotel and Country Club, Maidstone, Kent, with only four points separating the top 15 pairs.

The pair travelled to Dubai for the finals and played three rounds on three different 
courses – Arabian Ranches (38 points), Jumeirah Fire (35) and Jumeirah Earth (33).

Around 750 pairs originally entered so they are delighted that they achieved third place in the overall competition.

Lord, who was also in the winning team of a nine-hole floodlit challenge at Dubai Creek, said: “What a fabulous experience.”

Meanwhile, Spalding’s senior section joined forces with the ladies section for their annual early season get-together.

After the success of last year’s event it was decided again to use the format of a Texas Scramble, with two ladies and two seniors making up the teams.

A total of 64 players took part making up 16 teams.

The winning team of Albert Jacobs, Rod Filby, Jacquie Clare and Pam Smith came out on top with a net score of 64.7.

In second place were Neil Wilkinson, John Sharrocks, Ruth Atkins and Rowena Hughes on 65.2 while third place went to Howard Greaves, Dave Halfteck, Gill Dewhurst and Jenny Pipe (65.4).

The winning team thanked all for a thoroughly enjoyable day and all concerned in organising the event.

The raffle raised £200, the proceeds being split equally between the two captain’s charities.



March Medal: 1 Stephanie Nash 97-20=75, 2 ocb Lin Walker 96-20=76, 3 Maie Osborn 97-21=76.

Beryl Clay Medal: 1 Val Sambridge 96-22=74, 2 Jackie Maton 95-18=77, 3 Liz Miller 110-32=78.

Betty Boop Stableford Trophy: 1 Liz Miller 29 points, 2 Petra Meir 27, 3 Christine Burton 25.

March Stableford: 1 Liz Miller 39 points, 2 Jackie Maton 25.

March 9-hole Stableford: 1 Eunice Everitt 13 points.


March Stableford: Division One – 1 ocb Luke Rowell 36 points, 2 ocb Dean Wright 36, 3 Garry Fitzjohn 36. Division Two – 1 John Kellegher 37 points, 2 David Pluck 36, 3 Andy Morris 35. Division Three – 1 Karl Barker 39 points, 2 ocb Steve Skoulding 37, 3 Garry Coleman 37.


Stableford Trophy: Division One – 1 Lee Smith 42 points, 2 Peter Wheeler 39, 3 Brian Newby 37. Division Two – 1 Toby North 40 points, 2 Steve Skoulding 39, 3 Bob Mann 38. Division Three – 1 ocb Barrie Mutimer 37 points, 2 Roger Oughton 37, 3 Roy Pesterfield 35. Division Four – 1 Geoff Chappell 41 points, 2 Tony Petch 40, 3 Malcolm Miller 38.