GOLF: Nicholas Cup goes West to 16-handicapper Neil

Have your say

NEIL West saw off the challenge of more than 150 other competitors to win the much-coveted Nicholas Cup competition at Spalding Golf Club.

With weather conditions conducive for good golf, the 16 handicapper put in a solid performance to take the trophy on countback from Gary Welsh, both scoring 40 Stableford points.

Lloyd Chatham just edged out the in-form Hugo Kedzlie to take third spot, both with 39 points.

Other leading scores came from Wayne Wallace (37 points), Ben Blom, Steve Wade, Rex Leverton, Peter Orwell, Roger Brown and Phil Packard (all 36 points).

• The April monthly medal competition was played – and although weather and course conditions were not ideal, a record 22 of the 148 competitors failed to register a score.

Mark Laud (75-4=71) came out on top in the 0-14 handicap category with a nett 71 and his 75 was also the best gross score.

Carl Sewell (85-13=72) was second with Paul Johnson taking third spot on countback from Malcolm Mumby, Oliver Mitchell, Dave Perrott, Chris Hancock and Adrian Sibley, all carding a nett 73.

In the 15-28 handicap category another very talented junior member, nine-year-old Archie Davies(87-22=65) had the round of the day, scoring a nett 65 which earned him a handicap reduction to 19.

Nigel Dobney(86-20=66) was second with a nett 66 with Geoff Camm just edging out ten-year- old Hugo Kedzlie for third spot after both recorded a nett 68.

Completing the leaderboard were Kevin Siddle (nett 69) and Paul Edgley, David Ellis and Kev Marsdon (71).

Hugo Kedzlie had the best gross score in this category with his 83 which also resulted in a handicap reduction to 14.

• The third team won their opening match of the season 5-4 with one game halved against the ladies.

Captain and vice Kevin Siddle and Paul Wilton won 5&4, with other notable performances coming from Monty Brittain and John Goode (7&5) and Neil West and Bernard Herbert (2up).

Pick of the wins for the ladies came from Mags McArdle and Tracy Siddle (5&3) and Angela Roper and Hannah Thorold (3&2).

Seniors’ section: Ray Harrison and Andy Readman won a closely contested Winter League final against Geoff Dewhurst and Tim Hardy by 2 & 1.

The loosing finalist were Derek Brand and John Rylatt and Neil Knighton and Pat Thompson.