GOLF: Crampton is strokeplay top dog at Spalding

Have your say

James Crampton is Spalding Golf Club’s 2012 men’s strokeplay champion after winning the 36-hole Tester Salver trophy competition.

His total winning tally was 146 gross, having shot a 72 gross in the morning and a 74 in the afternoon. That was enough to win by two strokes from Oliver Mitchell (73+75=148), with Lloyd Chatham (77+73=150) and Chas Lacey (76+75=151) in third and fourth places respectively.

Those four, along with Harry Hunt (152), Keith Hearne (153), Mark Mitchell (156) and Andy Grimwood (158) will now contest the Landale Scragg club matchplay championship.

There were other prizes on offer at the Tester too, with a number of different category winners crowned.

The Square, awarded for the best nett score in the 0-17 handicap range, was won by Stuart Armstrong with a nett 67. Robin Roffe’s gross 91 was enough to take The Plaque, given to the player with lowest gross score in the 18-28 handicap category, while The Circle – the best nett in the same category – went the way of David Bergmann with 68.

These trophies all hold premium bonds, which each winner will benefit from if drawn during their winning year.

• SPALDING’S 1st team remain in second spot in the top division of the South Lincs Scratch League after a good 4-2 away win against Boston.

Winning pairs for Spalding were Steve Wade and Andy Grimwood (7&5), Lloyd Chatham and Chas Lacey (4&3) and James Crampton and Adam Davey (3&2).

The pairings of Oliver Mitchell and Mark Cooley and Keith Hearne and Mal Wray both halved their games.

• THE charity AM/AM was again well supported, with a record 41 teams of four taking to the field.

The winning quartet was a team made from three local South Lincs clubs, scoring 101 Stableford points.

In second place was the home club’s Phil and Millie Thorold, Bob Pearson and Willy Ford with 95 points.

Third place also went to a visiting team, just edging Spalding’s Rod Filby, Mags McArdle and Kevin and Tracy Siddle into fourth place after both scored 94 points.

Nearest the pin prizes were won by Simon Chester and Stuart Blessett.

The real winners on the day was the joint charity of club captain Andy Reedman, ladies’ skipper Norma Parker and senior skip Colin Inkley, The St Barnabas Hospice, Spalding for which an astonishing £6,206 was raised.

This was achieved through sponsorship, raffles, auctions and the generosity of the participating golfers and club members.

• SPALDING’S third team have endured mixed fortunes in their recent social matches.

They won 5-1 at the Surfleet course against their counterparts from Sleaford, but lost 4-2 at Boston.

Spalding’s success avenged the early season defeat at Sleaford, with wins coming from Rob Sampson and Monty Brittain (4&2), John Beba and Neil Clarke (4&3), Mick Bell and Matt Hendry (5&4) and Cliff Harrison and Dave Fitter (2up). Stuart Parker, who partnered with Malcolm George, was man of the match after shooting five birdies and an eagle in a 6&5 win.

The match at Boston was much tighter than the score suggests, with Spalding losing two of the games on the 18th.

Their winning pairs were Rob Sampson and Monty Brittain (4&3) and Trevor Horrocks and Andy Elms (4&3).

Elms was named man of the match with three birdies in his game – including a chip in from 25 yards.

Ladies’ section: Spalding’s League ‘A’ team continued their successful run of victories with a good 3.5-0.5 win at Stoke Rochford.

Pat West and Elizabeth Holbrook (4&2), Lesley Williams and Angela Roper (8&6) and Ruth Atkins and Avril Norton (2&1) all won, while Angie Maltby and Paula Brown halved. The League ‘B’ side lost their match at Belton Woods 3-1, though. Their point came by virtue of halves from Norma Parker and Anita Cross and Dina Reedman and Teresa Starbuck.

• A low-scoring Greta David competition was won by Pat West with 35 Stableford points. Mags McArdle (32) and Ruth Atkins (29) were second and third respectively.

All of the income from the event goes to a cancer charity of the captain’s choice.

Seniors’ section: Spalding were edged out 4.5-3.5 by hosts Sleaford. The combinations of John Patton and Malcolm Hole and John Woods and Geoff Camm were successful, while captain Colin Inkley and Ray Harrison, Dave McDermott and Chris Harwin and Tony Holbrook and Brian Freir all halved.

Tydd St Giles GC

Men’s section: South Lincolnshire Scratch League – Tydd St Giles A 2 Greetham Valley 4 (Adey Bills & Ian Edrupt lost 5&3; Andy Betts & Malcolm Stead lost 2&1; Paul Chaplain-Barton & Tim Hines won 1up; Gavin Merrison & John Tyler won 3&2; Leigh Chapman & Luke Rowell lost 2 down; Kevin Goude & Tom Brooks lost 1 down). Boston 5 Tydd St Giles B 1 (Del Murphy & Gerry Sherriff lost 3&2; Phil Tilney & Terry Pease lost 4&3; Keith Jakings & Liam Chapman lost 7&5; Garry Fitzjohn & Paul Amos lost 3&2; Neil John & Dan Ball lost 2 down; Linc Gostic & Clive Barber won 1up).

• Men’s Stableford Pairs – 1st George Pawson & Andrew Stacey 43pts; 2nd Kevin Dady & Ian Gerrard 41pts; 3rd Josh Chaplain-Barton & Julian Davie 40 pts.

Seniors’ section: Stableford Voucher Competition: Division One – 1st Ron Colledge 41pts; 2nd Gerry Sherriff 40pts; 3rd Steve Hart 38pts. Division Two – 1st Alex Mckinnon 37pts; 2nd Sid Haxell 36pts (ocb); 3rd Brian Skinner 36pts. Division Three – 1st Dennis Wilson 41pts; 2nd Richard Talbot 38pts; 3rd John Gamble 37pts. Division Four – 1st Dave Morris 46pts; 2nd Kenneth Sherry 41pts; 3rd Alan Henderson 32pts.

Gedney Hill GC

Men’s section: July Medal – 1st Liam Gavaghan 66nett; 2nd Steve Horton 67; 3rd Adam Britton 70 (ocb).

Seniors’ section: July Medal: Cat A – 1st Gavin Staite 67nett; 2nd John Venters 72. Cat B – 1st Keith Cooper 66nett; 2nd Doug Aitken 67. Cat C – 1st Stuart Field 75nett; 2nd Terry Grantham 80.

Result – Gedney Hill 4 Middleton Hall 1 (Doug Aitken & Bob Townsend won 4&3; Peter Orbine & Tony Lacey lost 1down; Carol Plume & Geoff Loos won 6&5; Tom Penning & Neil Sergeant won 3&2; Bill Sharpe & Wally Lawes won 1up; Len Kempster & Carl Claxton won 2up).

Rabbits’ section: Gedney Hill 3 Martin Moor 3 (Graham East & Lee Fisher won 4&3; Greg Walsh & K Follen won 6&5; Neil Sergeant & Pete Orbine halved; Bill Sharpe & Gary Moore lost 6&5; Paul Hanson & Phil Davis halved; Chris Bennett & Marilyn Sayer lost 3&2).

Ladies’ section: July Medal – 1st Nicky Weller 73nett; 2nd Janet Davis 78; 3rd Kim Markillie 79.

• Challenge Shield – 1st Chris Bennett 26pts; 2nd Lisa Burrell 24pts; 3rd Nicky Weller 23pts.