GOLF: Around the clubs

Latest sport news from the Lincs Free Press and Spalding Guardian,, @lfpsport on Twitter
Latest sport news from the Lincs Free Press and Spalding Guardian,, @lfpsport on Twitter
Have your say

The latest set of results

Gedney Hill Golf Club

David Lord has qualified for the national final of the Howdidido Singles competition in October having won in the regional final at Thorpe Wood 2 up against Neil Cook.

Mixed Competition – Upton Mixed Pairs: 1st Mike Page & Diane Moore 42pts (acb); 2nd Rob Newns & Maggie Bingham 42; 3rd Roy Bennett & Chris Bennett 41.

Men’s Section – September Medal: 1st Chris Davies 68; 2nd Ian Weller 69; 3rd Adam Britton 70.

Strawberry Cup: 1st Chris Davies 42pts; 2nd Pete Vinter 40; 3rd Merv Davies 39.

Seniors’ Section – Gedney Hill v RAF Marham (Home): Leonard Kempster & Tony Lacey won 6 & 4; Richard Senior & Malcolm Oliver lost 3 & 2; Carol Plume & Dave Spridgen won 4 & 3; Bill Smith & Noel Delaney won 3 & 2; Brian Cave & Peter Orbine lost 5 & 4; Tom Penning & Don Hinshelwood lost 1 down.

Gedney Hill v Kirton Holme (Away): Leonard Kempster & Peter Orbine won 1 up; Neil Sargeant & Bob Townsend won 3 & 2; Wally Lawes & Bill Sharpe won 3 & 2; David Lord & Keith Cooper halved; Carl Claxton & Carol Plume lost 2 & 1; Bill Smith & Don Hinshelwood, won 2 & 1.

Rabbits’ Section – Rabbits’ Open: 1st Stuart Turnell 46pts; 2nd Steve Carter 41 (acb); 3rd Adam Britton 41.


The last two Spalding Golf Club Seniors matches of the season saw a 4-4 home draw against Stoke Rochford and a resounding 7-1 home victory over Thorney Lakes.

q The Dennis Cary Trophy: 1st Bill Horrigan 42pts; 2nd Roger Davey 41pts; 3rd Shaun Gibson 40pts.

American Greensomes:1st Pete Schofield and Roger Davey 64; 2nd John Beba and Roy White 67; 3rd Dennis Farnsworth and John Camm 68 on countback from Alan Lambert and John Tilling and also Rob Filby and Karl Ellerbroek..

Tydd St Giles golf club

Mens Monthly Medal division 1: Winner Paul Bunton 79-12-67, 2nd ocb Clive Barber 78-10-68, 3rd Jamie Stott 76-8-68; division 2: winner Steve Grey 81-18-63, 2nd Scot Williams 82-15-67, 3rd Paul Seaman 87-17-70; division 3: winner Paul Matson 96-26-70, 2nd Paul Tibbs 94-22-72, 3rd Brendon Docking 93-19-74.

Seniors Stableford Trophy division 1: Winner Del Marsh 37 pts, 2nd David Doubtfire 35, 3rd Gerry Sherriff 34; division 2: Winner Roger Lancaster 36, 2nd ocb Phil Whitehead 35, 3rd Terry Sambridge 35; division 3: Winner ocb Eddie Armstrong 32, 2nd Anthony Petch 32, 3rd Den Wilson 30; division 4: Winner ocb Ken Sherry 37, 2nd Roger Oughton 37, 3rd Stewart Lacey 33.