Eight stay in contest to be club champion

WELL DONE: Thomas Carnihan (left), overall winner of the Tydd St Giles Seniors Open Individual Stableford competition, is presented with his prize by seniors club captain Trevor Sewell.
WELL DONE: Thomas Carnihan (left), overall winner of the Tydd St Giles Seniors Open Individual Stableford competition, is presented with his prize by seniors club captain Trevor Sewell.
Share this article
Have your say

Windy conditions made low scoring difficult for the Club Championship and Tester competition at Spalding with only 30 of the 150 golfers scoring below the standard scratch, and many players not returning a score.

The Tester Salver, for lowest gross over 36 holes, was won by first-team captain Andy Grimwood with 153.

The square, for best nett 0-17 handicaps, was won by Hugo Kedzlie with a superb nett 68.

For the higher (18-28) handicappers, Paul Hollely took the plaque with a gross 89 and Lester Pybus took the circle with a nett 73.

The eight best gross scores over 36 holes will battle it out to be club champion later in the season.

Club captains Ray Harrison and Chris Vickers took their mixed team to Belton Park and were disappointed to come away with a 6-2 defeat.

The only winning pair for Spalding was Howard Greaves and Elaine Harrison with Calum Walker and Jane Woolard, and Glen Woolard and Jackie Bailey-Scott halving their matches.

They also lost 7½-3½ away to King’s Lynn, winning pairs being Roger Brown and Di West and Rod Filby and Paula Brown, with Neil West and Lesley Williams halving their match.

Vice-captain David Tasker was at the helm for the first time with a social match at Boston and, although many matches were close, they came away with a 4½-1½


Mark Jones and Walker were the only winners with Steve Camm and Wayne Flowers grabbing a consolation half late on.

There were better fortunes for Stu Parker and Andy Rafferty’s third team, however, who completed a 6-0 whitewash over Sandilands – avenging the same scoreline in last year’s match and completing a double for the Spalding team.

Third-team captain Stuart Parker is holding his annual ‘Rabbits open day’ at Spalding on Sunday, August 2, and there are still a few places left for anyone wishing to enter.

The event is open to both members and non members with an active playing handicap of 16-28.

There are two separate Stableford competitions, 18 holes in the morning and 13 in the afternoon, with some terrific prizes to be won.

The cost per player is £29 for members, £39 for non members and includes coffee and bacon roll on arrival, ploughmans lunch between rounds, and a two-course meal and coffee afterwards.

Anyone wishing to enter should call the club on 01775 680386 or email golfmanager@spaldinggolfclub.co.uk

A total of 38 lady members entered the Coronation Cup, an 18-hole Stableford competition.

The winner was Di Platt with 38 points ahead of Anita Cross (37) and third on countback was Paula Brown (35).


South Lincolnshire Scratch League: Blankney 6 Tydd St Giles A 0 – Lenk Gostic & Malcolm Stead lost 7&6, Anthony Murphy & Paul Elsey lost 6&5, Paul Chaplain-Barton & Rod Drew lost 5&4, Kevin Goude & Adam Thomas lost 5&4, Luke Rowell & Adey Bills lost 3&2, Tim Hines & Ian Edrupt lost 3&1.

Tydd St Giles B 4½ Gedney Hill GC 1½ – Jimmy Woods & Gary Fitzjohn won 5&4, Neil John & Dan Newell halved, Wayne Alder & Tom Carniham lost 2&1, Mark Whittaker & Terry Pease won 5&3, John Nobbs & Clive Barber won 3&2, Andy Jackson & Ady Rowell won 1 up.

Seniors individual open competition: Home – 1 ocb Thomas Carnihan 39 points, 2 Henry Fiford 39, 3 Colin Page 38; away – 1 Ken White (RAF Marham) 38, 2 Brian Venters (Ely City) 37, 3 Robert Lee (Sleaford) 35.

Seniors Stableford vouchers competition: Division One – 1 Baz Smith 42 points, 2 Steve Skoulding 36, 3 Dennis Savory 35. Division Two – 1 ocb Denis Wilson 38, 2 ocb Brian Gifford 38, 3Gary Brown 38. Division Three – 1 Tony Illsey 39, 2 Alec Harding 34, 3 Brian Gough 32.

Men’s Stableford pairs: 1 Peter Brazil & Andy Gaff 41 points, 2 ocb Julian Davey & Steve Hotson 40, 3 Mick Vassall & Dave Worrall 40.