DARTS: Trio land Team Cup silverware

Top title: New Saracens Head  C (back, from left) - Pete Richardson, Phil Povey, Mick Gent, Steve Dent, Colin Hatter, Duncan Hunt; front - Mark Horspool and Shirley Povey.
Top title: New Saracens Head C (back, from left) - Pete Richardson, Phil Povey, Mick Gent, Steve Dent, Colin Hatter, Duncan Hunt; front - Mark Horspool and Shirley Povey.
Have your say

THREE titles were decided in the Holbeach and District League on an exciting Team Cup finals night at Tigers Social Club.

New Saracen’s Head got their hands on the Division One crown, while Rose and Crown and Golden Lion took the spoils in the second and third tiers respectively.

The closest of the three finals was the big one, with Five Bells C pushing top flight leaders New Saracen’s Head C all the way.

In a tight tussle that ended 8-7 to NSH C, the Tydd team made a solid start as Rick Seaton, Stu Seaton and John Naylor earned a 2-1 victory in the opener.

That was soon wiped out by a 2-1 triumph from Mick Gent, Phil Povey and Mark Horspool – who managed a 180 on the night – in the next match, though.

Saracen’s then stormed 6-3 ahead when Horspool and Pete Richardson won the first of three doubles matches 3-0, rendering 2-1 wins from Colin Seaton and Bert Seaton and then Dave Seaton and John Naylor as consolation.

The Division Two final was much more one-sided, with Rose and Crown cruising to an 11-4 victory over New Saracen’s Head A.

John Roberts, Mick Wade and Alex Gostic took the opener 2-1 for the Fleet fliers, which was backed up by a fine 3-0 success from terrific trio Darryl Thorold, Shaun Follen and Mick Ebbage.

Ben Cook and Alan ‘Lefty’ Wright hit back to win the maiden doubles 2-1, but Wade and Gostic returned to tie up the tussle with a 3-0 romp – and Ebbage and Follen added gloss to the final score with a 2-1 win in the finale.

Meanwhile, the Division Three battle between Five Bells B and Golden Lion went down to the wire.

The duo exchanged wins early on, with Bell’s trio Andy Cooper, Shaun Thorpe and Tim Tomizzi taking the opener.

Lion threesome James Truman, Dave Humbo and Steve Hudson immediately hit back, before a trio of doubles wins from the Moulton Seas End side secured the spoils.

Humbo and Craig Woods got the ball rolling, with Truman and Chris Leivers putting Lion on the brink of glory.

Jody Reynolds and John Scrups then wrapped up the title in the finale.

• THE Spalding and District Ladies’ League also turned its attention to cup competition last week.

New Saracen’s Head, who lead the way in Division One with an unblemished record, made light work of Riverside to keep their super season going.

Casey Horspool, Katie Dunmore, Shirley Povey, Dawn MacTavish and Lindsey Wingell were all big winners in a 13-2 success for a team that will be among the favourites for the Division One Cup.

There wasn’t such good news for fellow high fliers Ship though, as they were sunk by Elizabethan 8-7.

With hosts Ship on the brink of success at 7-5 ahead of the final match, Jane Walker wiped the deck with Rach Wortley 3-0 to send the Whaplode Drove ladies through.

Elsewhere in the top flight’s competition, big wins from Trish Cunningham and Helen Buffham helped Fenway A beat Horse and Groom A 9-6.

There was something of a shock in the Division Two Cup, with unbeaten league leaders Horse and Groom B edged out 8-7 by Lincoln Arms.

Eva Spinks secured the victory, beating Joy Silver 2-1 in the finale.

Blue Bell B – with Trudie Paul notching a 140 – also progressed by beating Drayman’s Arms 10-5.