DARTS: Tigers B are the top dogs

Silver lining: Tigers A wrapped up their league and cup double on finals night.
Silver lining: Tigers A wrapped up their league and cup double on finals night.
Have your say

TIGERS B reaffirmed their status as Holbeach and District League top dogs by wrapping up an impressive double.

The Division One champions saw off second-placed New Saracen’s Head C 10-7 to add the Florida Cup to their collection at the Tigers SC-based finals night.

With the clash finely-poised at 6-6 ahead of the final two games, wins for Mark Waters – who made a 122 check out – and John Walker sealed the success.

There was another defeat for the NSH club in the Skelton Cup (Division Two) final, as league runners-up Lamb and Flag bagged some silverware.

It was a dominant display from the Whaplode side, who won all seven of their individual battles to prevail 16-4 overall.

However, the Charlie Portass Shield final was much closer, with the top two Division Three teams slugging it out.

Eventually it was runners-up Five Bells A who gained a measure of revenge on league winners Rose and Crown by a narrow 11-10 scoreline.

It all went down to a winner-takes-all play-off between Gary Smart and Shaun Follen, after the game ended at 9-9. Smart took the spoils 2-1 in the clash of the night.

Meanwhile, Tigers A got their hands on the Tony Canham Cup with a 3-2 win over the luckless NSH C.

Saracen’s led 2-1 at one stage, but vital victories from Cameron Flowers and Dave Piccaver delivered the title for Tigers.

There was some good news for NSH though, as the ever-impressive duo of Mark Horspool and Duncan Hunt got their hands on the Division One Gilder Pairs gong.

The stellar combination knocked off Five Bells C twosome Colin and Stu Seaton 2-1 in the final.

In the second tier Gilder finale, Dan Vaughan and Ash Allen, of Lamb and Flag, squeezed past Bull’s James Truman and Graham Atkin 2-1.

The final Gilder gong went the way of Bell (Weston Hills) boys John Crawford and Mark Wilson. They defeated fellow third tier duo Les Marson and Gary Smart (Five Bells A) 2-1.

In the singles competition, NSH C’s Horspool landed the top Charlie Clark Cup.

Throwing a 180 along with 15 and 16 darts legs on the way, he beat Tigers’ Gary Mace 2-1 in a eye-catching final.

The Division Two crown went to Sutton Bridge RBL’s Paul Questead. He had too much for Lamb and Flag’s Dan Vaughan, winning 2-0.

In the Division Three version, David Clark (Five Bells A) was champion after a 2-1 triumph over home favourite Shaun Brothwell from Tigers C.

Elsewhere, there was something of a shock in the Ladies’ Cup final. Long Sutton RBL B’s Dawn Mactavish upset Legion A’s Dawn Wright 2-0 to take the title.