DARTS: Fantastic Fenway fire fabulous finish

Division Two doubles Nigel Goodwin and Scott Barlow, of Drayman's Arms B. Photo (NIKKI GRIFFIN): SG050312-342NG
Division Two doubles Nigel Goodwin and Scott Barlow, of Drayman's Arms B. Photo (NIKKI GRIFFIN): SG050312-342NG
Have your say

FEARSOME Fenway A finished with six trophies as they dominated the Aron Moyses Spalding Town League’s finals night.

The top tier champions added the Division One Cup and Mark Tansley Cup to their ranks at Spalding Services Club, while also taking three individual titles.

In the big game of the night, Fenway A had too much for league runners-up Lincoln Arms B in the Division One Cup.

Nick Moyses, Tim Halifax, Steve Stancer and Aron Moyses all won their singles to clinch the crown, with Andy Bingham and Stancer then teaming up in the doubles to seal a 5-2 success.

That was also the score in the Mark Tansley final, as Drayman’s suffered the same fate against all-conquering Fenway A.

Again, the pairing Bingham and Stancer in the doubles wrapped up the victory, with Drayman’s duo Neil Glover and Martin Wells winning singles matches to keep their team in the tie.

With a team treble wrapped up, Fenway’s aces then set about mopping up the other trophies up for grabs.

With three of the team in the semi-finals of the Division One Singles, it was no surprise when Nick Moyses took that honour.

He beat team-mate Tim Halifax 3-1 in the final, having defeated Martin Wells 2-1 in the last four.

Halifax had seen off fellow Fenway thrower Paul Edgley 2-0 in the semi.

Next was the Division One Doubles, with Halifax and Nick Moyses representing Fenway in the final, having beaten friendly foes Aron Moyses and Bingham 2-0 to make the cut.

They were up against Lincoln Arms A duo Kevin Carter and Nick Stevens and secured a comfortable 2-0 triumph.

With the A team dominating the top flight, Fenway’s B and C teams both got in on the act down in Division Two.

The B team collected their second tier league gong, having edged out their friendly foes in the C side by just two points.

But revenge was sweet in the all-Fenway Division Two Cup final, with the C team securing a fine 4-3 triumph in the closest of clashes.

In the end it went down to the doubles, with Carl Page and Mark Senior beating Neil and Keith Amess to wrap up the trophy.

Thankfully for the other teams in the league, the individual accolades in the second tier eluded Fenway.

John Charlton, of Lincoln Arms A, got his hands on the the Division Two Singles trophy, denying Marco Senior of Fenway C 2-0 in the final.

Drayman’s Arms B got in on the act in the Division Two Doubles, with Scott Barlow and Nigel Goodwin edging out Birds A duo Dave Mackman and Jim Bennett.

Also collecting awards on the night were the 180 winners and players that registered the highest checkouts.

Lincoln Arms B’s Karl Rolfe made more maximum throws than anyone else in Division One, while Fenway B’s Simon Juckes peppered the treble 20 the most in Division Two.

Jon Cooper, of Lincoln Arms B, bagged the top flight’s best finish, with Fenway’s Keith Amess the second tier checkout king.

l Trophy winners: Division One – Fenway A. Division Two – Fenway B. Division One Cup – Fenway A. Division Two Cup – Fenway C. Mark Tansley Cup – Fenway A. Dunmore Cup – Andy Bingham. Division One Singles – Nick Moyses. Division Two Singles – John Charlton. Division One Doubles – Nick Moyses & Tim Halifax. Division Two Doubles – Scott Barlow & Nigel Goodwin. 180s – Karl Rolfe (D1); Simon Juckes (D2). Highest Checkout – John Cooper (D1); Keith Amess (D2).