CYCLING: Seven get inside ‘the magic hour’

Velo-One riders Neil Palmer and Joshua Wallis
Velo-One riders Neil Palmer and Joshua Wallis
Have your say

July and August are busy months for Spalding Cycling Club members in a wide variety of events on the road and track – including Heckington and Mildenhall grass track race days and the culmination of the time trial season.

Club championship events for 2-up TT, 17 and 25 miles have been competed while both the 50-mile and the prestigious 10-mile titles remain undecided.

The club’s open 25-mile TT using the Donington course had 38 on the start list but only 31 lined up.

Despite fine weather, a difficult wind shaved the speed off for competitors on the return leg of the course.

Seven got inside the ‘magic hour’ with overall winner Adam Coffey posting 54:15.

Neil Palmer, a previous winner of the event, took second on 55:43 and third place went to Ian Dalton of Cherry Valley with 56:54.

Simon Wright

Simon Wright

Fastest lady was Team Swift’s Louise Day who put in a fine ride of 1:06:22 – finishing 17th overall.

From within the club this championship was anticipated to be a three-way battle between Ross McGivern, Simon Wright and Mark Hills.

However, the odds were narrowed by McGivern opting not to enter – opening the door to a tussle between Wright and Hills who were separated by six seconds after 25 miles – they recorded 1:04:26 and 1:04:32.

Third Spalding rider was Chris Bettinson on 1:07:54 followed by Barry Drew with 1:10:45.

Natalie Tooley

Natalie Tooley

Currently few of the club’s lady members compete at this distance so the championships award went to the ever-consistent Natalie Tooley with 1:13:55 and Sarah Bentley who posted 1:14:13.

A few days later and once again on the out and back course the 2-Up team time trial attracted a good turnout with eight teams eligible for the champion title, two guest teams and one composite team of a club member and a guest.

First and second places overall on the night went to the guest teams of Velo-One’s Palmer and Josh Wallis with 21:25 while Adam Ellis of Velo One partnered RP Vision’s Maddie Gammons to finish on 23:33.

The best Spalding team – the untried combination of Ben Moore and Bettinson – stopped the clock on 24:08, with Moore repeating his win of 2015 while Bettinson moved up after being in the third-placed team last year.

Ross McGivern leading Mark Hills

Ross McGivern leading Mark Hills

Just 13 seconds later McGivern and Hills crossed the line on 24:21, significantly faster for both than previous rides.

Making up the championship podium in third place, Simon and Tom Wright posted a fine 25:35.

The ladies competition had only one full team – Nicole Flatters and Kimberley Fisher, who posted 37:48.

Spalding’s Gerry Charlwood joined forces with James Nation of Bourne Wheelers to finish on 26:06, just ahead of another untried pairing of Keiran Buffham and Richard Flatters who turned in an excellent 26:38.

The majority of the Gurney family filled positions five and six overall in the championship table with Andrew and Will putting in a time of 26:57 while Ed and Tilly rode consistently well, finishing on 30:37.

The other mixed team in the event, formed by Derek Chamberlain and Katie Wright, posted 32:54.

Meanwhile, Palmer was second overall in a personal best time of 1.53:31 when Bourne Wheelers held an 50-mile time trial on the C50/2 course.

New Velo-One signing Shane Gowling continued his run of fine form, clocking a personal best at the Skegness 10-mile time trial with a time of 21:59.

Sainsbury’s Spalding have announced that are their local charity of the year.

With Velo-One being an official supporter of JDRF, 
the team and its supporters will be in store on August 5-7 helping to raise funds for the charity.

Velo-One are cycling with JDRF to #TackleType1