Awards handed out after successful season

GREAT NIGHT: Members before Spalding Cycling Club's 2015 season awards night at The Royal Mail Cart. Photo (TIM WILSON): SG050216-201TW
GREAT NIGHT: Members before Spalding Cycling Club's 2015 season awards night at The Royal Mail Cart. Photo (TIM WILSON): SG050216-201TW
Share this article
Have your say

The Royal Mail Cart was the venue for Spalding Cycling Club’s 2015 season awards night.

Organised by club social secretary Chris Bettinson, more than 50 people – nearly half the club membership – attended including special guest Max Williamson, a rising star on the Condor JLT professional team.

Williamson presented the awards later in the evening with club chairman Simon Wright.

Following the meal, club secretary Gary Bentley gave a short review of a busy year highlighting individual performances as well as a packed programme which included the two-day Velo Prix Cycling Festival, Heckington and Mildenhall Grass Track events, club rides, Go Ride as well as a full time trial season, all of which were well supported.

While the review of the year focused primarily on the competition and sporting activities, the social cycling rides were not overlooked as they are primarily what bring new members into the club and sport.

Sarah Bentley gave a short talk about how she had been inspired by Billie Fleming’s record-breaking ride in which she covered just over 29,000 miles in 1938.

To commemorate that achievement Bentley organised a ride which was part of a national event to honour Fleming.

Bentley’s ride attracted eight ladies from the club and was the catalyst for a regular ladies-only ride throughout the year which proved to be popular.

Club run co-ordinator Alan Stacey trawled the archives to come up with a number of old photographs which were mixed with more recent photographs in a funny and interesting presentation on club runs over the years featuring some well-known club members.

Stacey and Bentley also outlined their plans for developing the social cycling side of the club this year.

Each presentation was accompanied by a slide show of photos put together by club press officer Tim Bryett.

The high point of the evening was the awards ceremony. Photographs of each recipient were displayed as their award was made.

10 Mile Handicap Time Trial – Ross McGivern.

30 Mile Handicap Time Trial – Barry Drew.

25 Mile Handicap Time Trial – Mark Hills.

Road Race Trophy – Adam Ellis.

Road Race Youth – Tom Wright.

Best Novice Rider Lady –Natasha Tooley.

Best Novice Rider Male – Ben Heron.

Cyclocross – Molly Peel.

Hill Climb – Ben Moore.

Fisherman’s Arms Handicap – Chris Bettinson.

Best Go-Ride Newcomer – Elizabeth Birkett.

Go-Rider of the Year (Beryl Harding Trophy) – Ben Norton.

Ladies Best All Round Performance (Ray Pell Trophy) – Natasha Tooley for Club and Open TT.

Best Track Performance of the Year (Tim Bryett Trophy) – Tom Wright (Grass Track and Velodrome).

Junior BAR – Matt Hull (Boys).

Junior BAR – Sophie Wright (Girls).

Clubman of the Year – Simon Wright for his continued leadership and success in organising Velo Prix.

Time Trial League Event awards: Chris Ward – 1st 5 mile 12.25, 2nd 10 mile 22.39, 2nd 25 mile 56.19, 1st 30 mile 1.08.01, 1st 50 mile 1.59.18, 1st 25 mile vets, 1st 10 mile vets, 1st 50 mile vets & vets BAR Outstanding Performance Cup also for the Cambridgeshire Gran Fondo Time-trial Vets win.

Time Trial League Event awards: Neil Palmer – 1st 10 mile 22.19, 1st 25 mile 55.33, 1st 10 mile league, 1st 17 mile league, Senior BAR.

The chairman’s speech included a vote of thanks to everyone involved in making the club’s events a success including the refreshments team and a presentation of flowers to time keepers Nicki Ellis, Sharon Fensom and Jo Bellars.