Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Spalding Hockey Club present their awards at a virtual presentation night

Spalding Hockey Club changed their normal awards evening to a virtual presentation night on Saturday with 57 households coming together over Zoom to celebrate the success of the season.

Sixteen awards were presented as the club joined forces to mark the end of a campaign which had been brought to a premature end by the coronavirus pandemic.

Chairman Elaine Allen enthused: “It was a fabulous evening of fun and it was great to see the smiling faces of our hockey family who made the effort to be part of the evening in these crazy times.

Matthew Peach.
Matthew Peach.

“We thought that, rather than miss out on our usual awards night, it was a good opportunity to get everyone together and celebrate the season instead of leaving it until later in the year when it would have been lost and forgotten.”

The club would like to congratulate all the winners and thank the captains, committee members, coaches, umpires and managers for all their hard work this season.

Special thanks went to treasurer Martyn Smith and club secretary Frances Dalton for their tireless work behind the scenes to ensure the club runs efficiently.

Sponsors Ark IT Solutions , Bulley Davey, Hills Furnishings, Hub Rural, Soteria Solutions and the Round Table were also thanked for their funding and support which enabled the club to develop this year.

They have been able to run training courses which has given members qualifications in First Aid, umpiring and coaching.

The final thanks went to Mike Morris and the team at Tonic 44 who this year opened a community hub and cafe which provided the club with a long-awaited clubhouse for use for after match teas and much-needed changing facilities.

Charlotte Maplethorpe.
Charlotte Maplethorpe.

The evening was ended with special birthday celebrations for previous chairman Fred Morris and men’s first team player Jacob Baker.

Elaine added: “We have to remain optimistic as we try to embrace the changes and challenges lockdown brings and look forward to when we can all be together again on the pitch playing the game with love.

“We are planning online fitness and skills challenges for the coming months to see us through lockdown.

“We don’t know when we will be able to restart back so it’s about trying to keep people together and keep things going as best as we can.”

Prize winners

Umpire of the year: Mia Dewing; top male goalscorer: Stuart Cunnington; top female goalscorers: Charlotte Maplethorpe and AJ Bunyan; team of the season: Ladies Under 16s; most improved male: Lewis Doughty; most improved female: Megan Moore; men’s fifths players’ player: Scott Evans; men’s fourths players player: Josh Haines; men’s thirds players player: Reuben Gray; men’s seconds players player: Tom Bettinson; men’s firsts players player: Matthew Peach; ladies thirds joint players player: Kate Amess and Maisie Foden; ladies seconds players player: Megan Moore; ladies firsts joint players player: Jess Ball and Angel Harkus; junior clubperson of the year: Grace Hodgett and Archie Arnold; senior clubperson of the year: Elaine Allen.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More