Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Spalding Indoor Bowls Club win the Denny Cup for the first time in their history

More news, no ads


Spalding Indoor Bowls Club have won the Denny Cup for the first time in their history.

All four of their rinks returned winning scorecards in the 80-44 victory against Norfolk IBC, who were already twice beaten finalists in this competition in 2016 and 2018.

Dubbed the FA Cup of bowls, the Denny Cup is the most prestigious club knock-out event and has been played since the 1934/35 season.

Spalding Indoor Bowls Club celebrate their success.
Spalding Indoor Bowls Club celebrate their success.

Delighted skipper Graham Smith hailed the success on a fantastic day in the club’s history.

He said: “Never in my wildest dreams did I think we would ever get a chance to win the Denny Cup.

“It was an absolute magical moment for me and I would like to thank all my players for their enthusiasm and team spirit for the whole season, not just in the final. I am a very proud captain.”

With wins throughout the season against Peterborough (116-52), Stamford (81-67), Leicester (88-49), Lincoln (85-53), South Shields Vipers (89-80) and Wey Valley (72-61), Spalding were backed on Saturday by their travelling supporters.

They won the early exchanges and made a dream start in their first Denny final as the rink skipped by Jordan Philpott started exceptionally well by racing into an 11-1 lead at five ends.

All four rinks complimented each other and the team spirit was evident as they raced into a 20 shot lead (40-20).

The lead stayed between 15 and 20 shots for some time until Spalding pressed on again, mainly thanks to the rink skipped by Mathew Orrey, with Stephen Harris, 12-year-old Ollie Jeapes and Smith, who eventually won their rink 25-7.

Norfolk soon acknowledged defeat and conceded when Spalding were 80-44 ahead with only 12 ends left to play across the board.

Rink scores: Stephen Harris, Ollie Jeapes, Graham Smith and Mathew Orrey won 25-7; Kevin Ekins, Simon Lilley, Martin Spencer and Jordan Philpott won 19-11; Harry Mycock, Lewis Parnell, Andy Dunham and Dominic McVittie won 18-12; Brian Martin, Mike Robertson, Ean Morton and Tristan Morton won 18-14

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More