Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

GOLF: Management team retain 'Ryder Cup' at Tydd St Giles

Tydd St Giles held their annual 'Ryder Cup' competition as the management retained the trophy by beating the captain's team 16-11.

The morning session was nine-hole pairs foursomes matchplay which was dominated by the management as they won it 6½-2½, setting the tone for the rest of the day.

Ian Edrupt & Neil John (3&2) and Daniel Newell & Will Kirkham (2&1) got the first two points on the board for the management team.

Management captain Daniel Newell (left) receiving the trophy from club captain Vinny Day
Management captain Daniel Newell (left) receiving the trophy from club captain Vinny Day

Further points were added by Bradley Power & Martin Wells, Andy Hicks & Jimmy Dack, Andy Betts & Mark Whittaker and Daryl Pacey & Dean Wright.

The afternoon singles session was more tightly contested and for a moment it looked like a comeback might be on the cards.

There were some big wins for Keith Griffiths (5&4), Ash Ziebart (4&3) and Gary Brown (5&4) for the captain's team and John (5&4), Michael Flint (5&4) and Daryl Pacey (6&5) for the management.

The management team won the final four games of the session, taking it 9½-8½.

Edrupt, John, James Neve, Griffiths,Ziebart, Wells, Betts, Pacey and Wright won both their games during the day.

Management team captain Newell thanked all for taking part in a very competitive, yet friendly, manner as a great advert for getting involved in the competitions at Tydd St Giles.

Ladies October Stableford: 1 Liz Miller 32 points, 2 Lyn Walker 26, 3 Maie Osbourn 25, 4 Julie Perry 24.

Men's October Medal: Division One - 1 ocb Ben Harrington 80-12=68, 2 Wayne Cayzer 79-11=68, 3 Tim Hines 73-4=69. Division Two - 1 Tim Buckenham 83-18=65, 2 ocb David Holmes 83-16=67, 3 Harry Turner 80-13=67. Division Three - 1 Paul Borley 91-22=69, 2 Trevor Sewell 91-21=70, 3 Stuart Ablett 99-28=71.

Seniors October Medal: Division One - 1 ocb Chris Moore 88-12=76, 2 ocb Peter Wheeler 86-10=76, 3 Lee Smith 90-14=76. Division Two - 1 Stephen Fox 87-17=70, 2 Ken Doughty 86-15=71, 3 Michael Flint 88-15=73. Division Three - 1 Trevor Hunt 82-21=61, 2 ocb John Gamble 96-23=73, 3 Richard Martin 93-20=73. Division Four - 1 Salvatore DiBella 100-25=75, 2 Malcolm Miller 101-25=76, 3 Alec Harding 104=26=78.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More