Single strike enough for Wakes’ away win

Bourne manager Rafa Mazzarella
Bourne manager Rafa Mazzarella
Have your say

UCL Division One: Burton Park Wanderers 0 Bourne Town 1

Bourne Town edged a close contest at Latimer Park to pick up only their second away win of the campaign.

Both clubs struggled to create clear openings early on.

Wakes goalkeeper Aaron Fagan spread himself well to thwart Curtis Taylor-Jacob, while for the visitors Henry Dunn and Jones De Sousa combined well to present Harley Williams with a presentable chance he put over the crossbar.

Shane Hawkes was just too high with a free-kick for Burton Park Wanderers while at the other end Scott Spearink’s lay-off saw Dunn fire straight at keeper Dom Roggero from outside the box.

Bourne made the breakthrough after 38 minutes with De Sousa showing his marker a clean pair of heels on the right before centring for Williams to arrive with a perfectly timed run to sweep the ball past Roggero.

Reubus Richard-Noel put a cross shot just wide early in the second half while Williams latched onto a stray pass across the box but was unable to beat Roggero at his near post.

Lynval Da Costa missed a great chance to level from close range after Josh Bamsey’s ball into the box was deflected into his path.

With the contest in its dying seconds Burton twice came close to levelling. Liam Piddington’s ball into the box was met by a towering header from Da Costa which Fagan tipped over, and from the resulting corner Darren Capps had a header blocked on the line.

Bourne: Fagan, Pierre-Liverpool, D Wilson, Moss, Jesson, Elger, Wallace, Dunn, Spearink (Placis), Williams, De Sousa.

Tuesday’s results

Evo-Stik League

First Division South: Loughborough Dynamo 9 Brigg 0, Norton 0 Mickleover Sports 1, Stocksbridge Park Steels 1 Kidsgrove 1.

ChromaSport & Trophies United Counties League

Premier Division: Peterborough Northern Star 1 Eynesbury 2.

Knockout Cup: Yaxley 3 Huntingdon 0.

Division One: Burton Park Wanderers 0 Bourne 1, Lutterworth 0 Rothwell Corinthians 0, Potton 4 Raunds 1, Rushden & Higham 7 Stewarts & Lloyds Corby 1.

Reserve Division: Irchester 1 Olney 1.