Holbeach United aiming for hat-trick

Josh Ford converted a penalty in the semi-final
Josh Ford converted a penalty in the semi-final
  • ChromaSport & Trophies United Counties League Knockout Cup final - Holbeach United v Peterborough Sports (at Deeping Rangers, Monday 3pm kick-off)
Have your say

Holbeach United will be contesting their third United Counties League Knockout Cup final on Bank Holiday Monday – hoping to repeat their successes in 1965 and 1990.

The Tigers’ first success came in a one-off final at Carter’s Park and their 7-1 defeat of Desborough Town matched a one-game final winning margin which has not been bettered in the half-century since.

To reach the final Holbeach had recorded home wins over Wellingborough Town, Timken Athletic in a replay and Corby Reserves.

Holbeach’s second Knockout Cup victory was the first part of a UCL treble completed by Alan Day’s talented side in 1990.

On this occasion the final was a two-legged affair against Irthlingborough Diamonds.

The first leg at Carter’s Park finished 1-1 with Shaun Keeble scoring the Holbeach equaliser.

In the Nene Park return the Tigers’ prospects looked bleak as Diamonds went two goals ahead in the first half.

But Peter Rawcliffe and Adrian Speed squared the contest before Ashley Carr completed the comeback with the winning goal 10 minutes from full-time.

With the first silverware under their belts Holbeach went on to add the Premier Division title and Benovelent Cup to their trophy collection.

The Tigers have come to grief at the semi-final stage on seven occasions, most recently in 2012 when they missed out to St Ives Town.

Meanwhile, Peterborough Sports are seeking to make history as the first Division One winners of the trophy since the competition was opened up to both divisions in 1981.

Three clubs from the lower grade have reached the final but lost to higher level opponents – Ramsey in 1989, Daventry Town in 2008 and Potton United last season.

The Royals won a quarter-final at Carter’s Park en route to a 3-0 final reverse against AFC Rushden & Diamonds.



Preliminary round – Bugbrooke St Michaels (H) 4-1 (Ford 3 – 1 pen, Tidswell)

First round – Blackstones (H) 4-0 (Thomas, Tidswell, King, Treacher)

Second round – Kirby Muxloe (A) 2-1 (Clitheroe 2)

Quarter-final – Boston Town (H) 1-0 (Ward)

Semi-final – Wisbech Town (H) 2-0 (Ford pen, Coughlan)


Preliminary round – Burton Park Wanderers (H) 4-0

First round – Thrapston Town (A) 2-1

Second round – Peterborough Northern Star (H) 3-0

Quarter-final – Oadby Town (A) 2-0

Semi-final – Cogenhoe United (A) 2-0