Fitness concern for cup final

Moulton Harrox celebrate in their semi-final win against Brumby
Moulton Harrox celebrate in their semi-final win against Brumby
Share this article
Have your say

Moulton Harrox are hoping to collect the Lincolnshire FA Junior Cup on Wednesday for the fifth time.

They take on Hykeham Town in the final (7.45pm kick-off) at Lincoln City’s Sincil Bank.

Five successive wins have put Harrox in good form but there are fitness concerns.

Midfielder Matthew Watkin is ruled out with torn tendons in his knee.

Captain Phil Groves and midfielder Billy King are both rated doubtful but Andy Law and Ben Allen are back in the squad.

Assistant-manager Paul Crowson said: “We have only had one defeat in 13 games and a penalty is the only goal we’ve conceded in five wins in a row.

“So we must be doing something right – although we won’t under-estimate Hykeham one bit.

“We know they are a very decent side and we expect a hard, physical encounter.

“Our main priority has been getting players fit for the final tomorrow night.

“We played at Sincil Bank two years ago when we won the treble.

“Like most pitches at this stage of the season, I’m sure it will be hard and bobbly.

“We will give it our best shot and hopefully bring back the trophy.”

Hykeham are top of the Sills & Betteridge Solicitors Lincolnshire League.

A bus will leave Moulton Primary School at 5pm and pick up en-route from The Birds at 5.15pm. There will be a charge of £5 per seat.

Admission to the ground is £5 for adults and £3 concessions.

To book a seat on the bus, e-mail or call 07730 770407.

The reserves are in the PFA Challenge Cup final on Friday against Baston at Chestnut Avenue, home of Peterborough Northern Star.

The bus will leave Moulton Primary School at 5.10pm with a pick-up at The Birds at 5.20pm. There will be a charge of £5 for non-players.

Moulton Harrox squad: Lee Kenealy, Phil Groves (captain), Ainsley Johnson, Bobby Patterson, Ashley Coddington, Billy King, Matthew Barnett, Matthew Watkin, Ian Bradbury, Macaulay Grimwood, Joe Townsend, David Wilson, Nigel Steadman, Danny Cairns, Ben Allen, Josh Ford, Chris Hall, Declan Earth, Louis Steadman, Jordan Bailey Smith. Managers: Paul Kent and Paul Crowson. Physio: Ken Smith.

Moulton Harrox Reserves squad: Wayne Wilding, Simon Dougill, Laurence Price, Wayne Congreve, Martyn Cundy, Jordan Bailey Smith, Charlie Dhanji, Ash Burton, Chris Hall, Tom Coote, Danny Cairns, Louis Steadman, Ben Wiggins, Declan Earth, Dave Wilson, Steve Sinfield, Ben Allen, Lee Hudson, Dan Dougill.

Manager: Gary Huggins. Assistant managers: Nigel Steadman and Chris Hall.