LOCAL FOOTBALL: Linnets stunned by heroic Harrox win

Have your say

KING’S LYNN TOWN RES 2 MOULTON HARROX RES 3: MARVELLOUS Moulton gave Peterborough and District League Division One title favourites Lynn as massive shock as they roared to a stunning opening day success at The Walks.

The Linnets, who are new to the Peterborough League, needed a late rally to even get close to Harrox – who were without four key men for their first competitive clash of the new campaign on Saturday.

A tight first-half was edged by the visitors, capped by an opener from Joe Townsend just before the break.

If that stunned the 100-strong crowd, Stu Easey’s 25-yard cracker doubled Moulton’s money and put them firmly in command.

It got even better too, as Joe Harrison’s delicate lob over the keeper put the away side in dreamland.

Moulton, who included 44-year-old Jeremy King and former Lynn legend Lee Husdon in their line-up, worked tirelessly throughout – but they had their backs against the wall in the closing minutes after Tom Elderkin was harshly dismissed for two yellow cards.

That allowed Shaun Stocker and Luis Felipe Macedo to score late on, but Harrox held on with Dave Panton excellent in goal.

Harrox Res: David Panton, Lewis Chapman, Stuart Easey, Tom Elderkin, Ashley Gedney, Joe Harrison, Lee Hudson, Jeremy King, Aris Placis, Lawrence Price, Joe Townsend.



AFTER an impressive pre-season, the Magpies were shot down in their opener.

A Ryan Inns double (18 and 59) and Joe Hufford’s strike (68) put Sutton firmly on the back foot at London Road, with all three goals avoidable.

However, with ten minutes left on the clock Lee Marshall headed in a free kick to reduce the arrears, before Alan Burch scored in the dying seconds to spark hopes of a draw.

Sutton did have a big chance to snatch a share of the spoils when player/boss Vinnie Mackie headed wide in injury time.

With no less than nine players set to return for Saturday’s clash with Moulton Harrox Reserves, Sutton will be hoping to kick-start their season in style.

Sutton: Jack Thorpe, Alan Burch, Matthew Cawthorn, Sean Copeland, Vinnie Mackie, Lee Marshall, Nicholas Russell, Ian Spelman, Nicky Treacher, James Ward, Martin Ward. Subs: Luke Conroy, Jonathan Hubbard, Steven Robinson, Nicky Watson.



A DAVE Wilson strike wasn’t enough for the Tigers as they slipped to a Carter’s Park defeat.

Wilson did open his account for the season on 25 minutes, but goals from Andy Ellis and Chris Joiner were enough to see Langtoft home.

Adam Kirk’s side visit Ketton on Saturday (2pm).

Tigers Res: Adam Kirk, Kieran Bagnall, Steven Barnes, Daniel Goddard, Ainsley Johnson, Cymon Lambe, Tom McKeown, Davy Shepherd, John Smith, Glen Wells, David Wilson. Subs: Stefan Belakov, Lewis Ashley Forman, Francis McKeown, Aaron Shepherd

Premier Division



MOULTON started what promises to be an exciting season with a convincing – but hard-fought – victory against one of the favourites for the title this season.

New-look Harrox dominated the opening half an hour and deservedly went into a two-goal lead through a pair of fresh recruits.

Ex-Pinchbeck United duo Andy Law and Dan Woods, the latter with a stunning individual effort, grabbed the goals.

This stung the home team into life and Sports reduced the margin just before the interval through Ricky Brown.

The Peterborough side had the better of the early stages of the second half, but rarely troubled Lee Kenealy in the Moulton goal.

When Harrox went forward they carried a threat – emphasised by Billy King’s fine right foot drive to make it 3-1.

The hosts reduced the arrears through Juliano Mereze in the final minute, but it mattered little.

Moulton made the short trip to Crowland Town last night (result not known as we went to press) and host King’s Cliffe on Saturday (2pm).

Moulton: Lee Kenealy, John Ball, Danny Cairns, Bobby Patterson, Jonny Clay, Ashley Coddington, Martin Gordon, Billy King, Andy Law, Tom Panton, Dan Woods. Subs: Ben Allen, Steve Sinfield, Nigel Steadman.



Goals: Pinchbeck – Lovelace; Whittlesey – Heron (4), Quince, Gostic.

Pinchbeck: Jack Chilvers, Reece Coddington, Dan Cole, Luke Gardner, Ben Harris, Liam Harrison, Mark Lovelace, Matthew Montif, Robbie Relf, Robert Snaith, Curtis Yeatman. Subs: James Hardy, Nick Lovelace, Stuart Whitaker.