FOOTBALL: Tigers crowned champions without kicking a ball

Have your say

Holbeach United were crowned champions of the UCL Premier Division on Saturday after their two chief title rivals lost.

The Tigers, who didn’t have a game, clinched the crown when Spalding United lost 2-0 at S & L Corby and St Ives Town were beaten 3-1 at home by Newport Pagnell Town.

John Chand’s side are an unassailable 14 points clear of St Ives ahead of their final two games of the season and are celebrating a double following their Lincs FA Senior Trophy success on Wednesday.

They visit the Saints on Tuesday (7.45pm), before finishing their campaign at rock-bottom Irchester United on Saturday (3pm).

It is expected that Holbeach will lift the trophy at Irchester on the final day, but that is still to be confirmed.

We’ll have more on the Tigers’ title win in Tuesday’s Lincolnshire Free Press.

For third-placed Spalding, their loss marks a missed opportunity in the race for promotion – but they remain in the hunt for second. Pat Rayment’s side host Cogenhoe United on Tuesday and will be hoping Holbeach can take more points off St Ives on the same night.

Elsewhere, Lewis Stone struck a last-minute winner as Deeping Rangers won 1-0 at Desborough Town. The success moves Tuncay Korkmaz’s men back up to fourth in the table.

In UCL Division One, Bourne Town slipped to a 3-2 loss at Buckingham Town and stay tenth in the table.

Moulton Harrox remain two points clear at the top of Peterborough and District League Premier Division after a 2-0 triumph at Whittlesey Blue Star.

In the same division, Deeping Rangers Reserves beat Ramsey Town 1-0 at Outgang Road.


UCL Premier Division: AFC Kempston Rovers 0 Shepshed Dynamo 1; Desborough Town 0 Deeping Rangers 1; Harborough Town 2 Blackstones 1; Huntingdon Town 1 Boston Town 0; Long Buckby 1 Peterborough Northern Star 0; Sleaford Town 3 Irchester United 1; St Ives Town 1 Newport Pagnell Town 3; Stewarts & Lloyds Corby 2 Spalding United 0; Wellingborough Town 2 Cogenhoe United 2.

UCL Division One: Buckingham Town 3 Bourne Town 2; Bugbrooke St Michaels 0 Harrowby United 3; Burton Park Wanderers 3 Wootton Blue Cross 3; Northampton Sileby Rangers 5 Northampton Spencer 2; Potton United 1 Northampton ON Chenecks 0; Raunds Town 0 AFC Rushden & Diamonds 4; Rothwell Corinthians 1 Eynesbury Rovers 4; Rushden and Higham United 2 Oadby Town 0; Wellingborough Whitworth 3 Thrapston Town 1.

Peterborough & District League: Premier Division: Deeping Rangers Reserves 1 Ramsey Town 0; Kings Cliffe United 2 Parson Drove 1; Leverington Sports 0 Netherton United 2; Peterborough ICA Sports 6 Stilton United 1; Uppingham Town 2 Riverside Rovers 1; Whittlesey Blue Star 0 Moulton Harrox 2; Whittlesey United 0 Peterborough Sport Parkway 10.

Division One: Farcet United 1 Sawtry 2; Hampton Sport 3 Sutton Bridge United 3; Holbeach United Reserves 7 Maccasports 1; Ketton 2 Netherton United Reserves 1; Moulton Harrox Reserves 1 Thorney 3.

Division Two: Crowland Town Reserves 3 Leverington Sports Res 1; Langtoft United Reserves 11 Gedney Hill 3; Oakham United Reserves 2 Guyhirn 3.

Division Three: Kings Cliffe United Reserves 5 Peterborough Rovers Res 2; Long Sutton Athletic Reserves 3 Baston 0; Peterborough ICA Sports A 2 Uppingham Town Reserves 2.

Division Four: Farcet United Reserves 1 Wittering 4; Leverington Sports A 1 Parkway Eagles 2; Sawtry Res 0 Ryhall United Res 3; Stilton United Reserves 4 Ketton Reserves 3.

Division Five: AFC Peterborough 2 Hampton Sport Reserves 5.

The League Shield: Tydd SM 1 Riverside Rovers Res 6.

Boston & District League: Premier Division: Freiston 0 Billinghay Ath 3; Old Leake 0 Fishtoft 2; Pointon 4 Benington 2.

Division One: Billinghay Res 1 Wyberton Res 2; Coningsby 2 Pointon Res 1; Spalding Harriers 0 Wrangle Utd 6; Wainfleet Utd 0 Woodhall Spa Utd 4.

Division Two: Fishtoft Res 0 Fosdyke 4; Kirton Town Res 2 Mareham Res 2; Nelson 2 Park Utd 2; Sutterton 8 Holbeach Bank 0; Westside Rangers 1 Leverton 1.

Division Three: Tulip 2 Friskney 5.

Sharman Burgess Sports Cup Semi Finals: Skegness Town Res 2 Wyberton 4; Swineshead 0 Ruskington Rovers 1.