FOOTBALL: Spalding Sunday League unveils new look

Have your say

A REVAMPED Spalding Sunday Football League will see 13 teams compete in one solitary division next season.

After having just four teams in Division One last season, the change from a two tier format is not unexpected.

The new-look division sees newcomers Holbeach Unted Sunday, Pinchbeck United Sunday and Spalding Wanderers join champions Magnet Tavern, Fenway, Gosberton, Hole In The Wall, Jubilee, Lutton, Murrow Bell, Punchbowl, Sutton Bridge and Sutton St James. League matches will commence on Sunday, September 2.

These changes were revealed at the league’s annual meeting, which also saw award winners honoured.

Magnet’s Mark Lovelace and Cowbit’s Jake Mason shared the Division One top scorer award, with Lee Still of Sutton Bridge the second tier’s leading marksman.

The fair play award went to Hole In The Wall, while Jonathan Fowler was named referee of the year.

Jubilee’s Paul Rudkin claimed the overall secretary of the year accolade, after also winning the Division Two gong. The top flight’s recipient was Marcus Judd of Magnet Tavern.

Also picking up a trophy was Fenway’s Andy Murray. He was chosen as the club assistant referee of the year

All league officers were re-elected at the Tulips Social Club meet.