CROSS COUNTRY: Nene victory is Taylor-made

editorial image
Have your say

CHARLOTTE Taylor led the charge for a strong Nene Valley Harriers contingent as she took a fine victory at the Lincolnshire Cross Country Championships at Louth.

Spalding ace Taylor roared to first place in the under-20 ladies’ race to become Nene Valley’s sole county champion.

The club did pick up four team awards though, including a fine victory in the U/15 category, inspired by Billy Mugnier (2nd), James McRae (3rd) and Alex Hampson (4th).

In the same section, strong finishes from Michael Caywood (8th), Cameron Marshall (9th) and Reggie Reeves (12th) earned the Harriers second team bronze in the standings too.

Also performing well were Michael Craven and Lloyd Kempson, who managed fifth and second in the men’s U/17 and U/20 races respectively.

Bethany Denial placed fifth in the U/13 girls race as Nene Valley finished third as a team, while Grace Mullins took a super second in the U/17 ladies’ race and Steph Beavis was third behind Taylor in the U/20 ladies.

In the U/15 girls’ race, Amy Gibbons (4th), Phoebe Whatoff (7th) and Holly Wise (8th) came together to take second place in the team stakes.

Phillipa Taylor was another to finish strongly as she managed second place in the senior ladies’ event.

Results: U/13 Boys: Bradley Allan 7th; Lucas Fidler 12th. U/15 Boys: Billy Mugnier 2nd; James McRae 3rd; Alex Hampson 4th; Team (Mugnier, McRae, Hampson) 1st; Michael Caywood 8th; Cameron Marshall 9th; Reggie Reeves 12th; Team (Caywood, Marshall, Reeves) 3rd; Bradley Spurdens 15th. U/17 men: Michael Craven 5th; Dan Patterson 9th. U/20 men: Lloyd Kempson 2nd. Senior men: Matt Green 8th; David De Sa 15th. U/13 girls: Bethany Denial 5th; Alice Calicut 13th; Eva Lavery 16th; Team (Denial, Calicut, Lavery) 3rd; Nikkita Robinson 18th; Alice Gibbons 19th; Eleanor Palmer 22nd. U/15 girls: Amy Gibbons 4th; Phoebe Whatoff 7th; Holly Wise 8th; Team 2nd. U/17 ladies: Grace Mullins 2nd; Natasha Segal 8th. U/20 ladies: Charlotte Taylor 1st; Steph Beavis 3rd. Senior ladies: Phillippa Taylor 2nd.