Tories make gains on South Holland District Council

Success for Nick Worth
Success for Nick Worth
  • Tories up, Independents down, first seats for UKIP
Have your say

The Conservatives still rule South Holland District Council after yesterday’s election – although UKIP have picked up their first two seats in the area.

With just a recounted Crowland and Deeping St Nicholas result to come in, the Tories have 26 seats, the Independents six and UKIP two. That’s three up for the Conservatives on 2011 and six down for the Independents.

In Spalding St Mary’s there was double Conservative joy, with Harry Drury elected for the first time with 1,178 votes alongside council leader Gary Porter (1,084). UKIP’s Richard Fairman picked up 805 votes and Independent Robert West 523.

In Spalding St John’s the seats went to young Conservative Jack McLean (1,017) and Independent Graham Dark (821). Rob Gibson of UKIP scored 733 and the ousted Independent Roger Perkins 421. Mr McLean (20) told the Free Press: “This was exactly what I wanted.”

UKIP took their first-ever South Holland District Council seat in Spalding St Paul’s where Pete Williams (865) came a close second to Conservative David Ashby (889). Third was Glynis Scalese (Conservative, 767).

Mr Williams told the Free Press: “I’m looking forward to the tasks ahead.”

New face Harry Drury

New face Harry Drury

There was an Independent victory in Spalding Monks House for Angela Newton (1,398) with the second seat going to Conservative George Aley (1,026). UKIP’s Dave Maltby received 817 votes.

More Conservative seats were won in Spalding Wygate where Roger Gambba-Jones received 1,355 votes and Christine Lawton 1,267. Losing out were Independents Geraldine Scholes and Anthony Cronin (763).

or the Spalding Castle seat Gary Taylor (Conservative) won with 681 votes with Martin Blake (Green) 125 and Mark Le Sage (Independent) 229.

UKIP claimed their second seat in Holbeach Town. Conservatives Francis Biggadike (1,902) and Tracey Carter (1,304) were first and second but UKIP constituency chairman Paul Foyster claimed the third seat with 1,290.

I’m looking forward to the tasks ahead

Pete Williams of UKIP

Fourth was Conservative Rita Rudkin (1,215), with Independent Martin Howard (918) fifth.

Mr Foyster said: “I’m pleased we have a voice in the council.”

For Holbeach Hurn, where there is just one seat, current deputy leader Nick Worth (Conservative) won with 719 votes to the 324 of Independent Richard Crowley.

Fleet saw Conservative Peter Coupland elected with 720 votes. Paul Chapman (Independent) 371 and Anne Ramkaran (Liberal Democrat) 70 missed out.

Young Jack McLean is another new Conservative councillor

Young Jack McLean is another new Conservative councillor

And there was a Tory gain in Gedney for Joanne Reynolds (588) who ousted Independent Sarah Wilkinson (245). UKIP’s Andrew Parks received 416 votes.

In Whaplode and Holbeach St John there was a Conservative double, with the seats going to Michael Pullen (1,270) and Malcolm Chandler (1,232). UKIP’s Karl Richardson was third with 969.

The three seats in Long Sutton went to Conservatives Jack Tyrrell (2,076) and Laura Eldridge (1,922) and Andy Tennant (Independent, 1,620). Missing out were Independents David Wilkinson (1,567) and Jeanne Sibley (1,039).

In Sutton Bridge the two seats went to Independents Chris Brewis (839) and Michael Booth (755), with Conservatives Shirley Giles and Vicky Hills scoring 539 and 525 respectively. UKIP’s Phil Scarlett received 485 votes.

In The Saints Michael Seymour (Conservative) took the only seat with 839 votes to Independent Val Gemmell’s 413.

In Donington, Quadring and Gosberton those elected were Robert Clark (Conservative, 2,268) Jane King (Independent, 1,677) and Colin Johnson (Conservative, 1,657). Missing out was Roger Neal (Conservative 1,043).

New UKIP councillor Pete Williams

New UKIP councillor Pete Williams

In Moulton, Weston and Cowbit the three seats were won by Conservatives Anthony Casson (1,953), Andrew Woolf (1,650) and Rodney Grocock (1,326) after a recount. Losing out was the area’s only Labour candidate Voyteck Kowalewski (468), Liberal Democrat Mary lane, Conservative Andrew Woold and Independent Jim Scarsbrook.

In Pinchbeck and Surfleet the three seats went to Conservatives Elizabeth Sneath (2,074), James Avery (1,952) and Sally Slade (1,908), with Independents Douglas Dickens and David Turp and UKIP’s Geoff Garner not elected.

There was victory for Independent Angela Newton

There was victory for Independent Angela Newton

Pleased: Paul Foyster

Pleased: Paul Foyster