South Holland leader: I’m not complacent

Share this article
Have your say

COUNCIL leader Gary Porter insists he is well aware that he could lose his position if he fails to keep the support of his colleagues with his agenda.

Coun Porter was formally re-elected for four more years at the helm of South Holland District Council on Wednesday, and thanked members for continuing to show confidence in him.

He said he was fully aware that while he had been elected for four years, members would soon be able to take a vote of no confidence in him if he lost their support.

Coun Porter said: “I am fully aware that I can only lead where other people are prepared to follow.”

Coun Porter, who has been leader for eight years, then formally appointed Paul Przyszlak, Gary Taylor, Howard Johnson, Nick Worth, Roger Gambba-Jones, Malcolm Chandler and Christine Lawton to the cabinet.

The portfolios for each member will be announced at a later date and Coun Porter suggested some members will receive new roles – with job descriptions being brought into line with Breckland District Council to reflect the merger of management teams.

Couns Chandler and Lawton are new additions to the top team, while Paul Espin lost his seat at the election and Coun Amanda Puttick, formerly portfolio holder for housing, has left the cabinet.

Councillors Rodney Grocock and Andrew Woolf will assist the cabinet in the support roles dubbed “bag carriers” by Coun Angela Newton.

At the meeting former vice-chairman Mick Seymour was elected to take the chain for the coming year, with previous incumbent Stamford Marthews losing his council seat at this month’s elections.

Holbeach councillor Rita Rudkin was chosen to be vice chairman.