South Holland District Council stays under Conservative control

Share this article
Have your say

THE CONSERVATIVES have retained their control of South Holland District Council - but the authority’s chairman lost his seat in the shock of the night at the count in Spalding.

Stamford Marthews was unseated by independent Sarah Wilkinson in the Gedney ward, a headline result in a night that saw the Tories win 25 of the 37 seats.

The remaining 12 seats were scooped by independents, including Chris Brewis, a member of the Lincolnshire Independents group.

There were 27 Conservatives at the last election but one of the party’s members, Wayne Seaborn, left the ruling group.

The new councillors are:

•Crowland and Deeping St Nicholas: Bryan Alcock Ind), Angela Harrison (Con), Paul Przyszlak (Con).

•Donington, Quadring and Gosberton: Robert Clark (Con), Jane King (Ind), Amanda Puttick (Con).

•Fleet: Shaun Keeble (Con).

•Gedney: Sarah Wilkinson (Ind).

•Holbeach Hurn: Nick Worth (Con) - unopposed.

•Holbeach Town: Francis Biggadike (Con), Martin Howard (Ind), Rita Rudkin (Con).

•Long Sutton: Simon Booth (Ind), Dennis Tennant (Ind), David Wilkinson (Ind).

•Moulton, Weston, Cowbit: Anthony Casson (Con), Rodney Grocock (Con), Andrew Woolf (Con).

•Pinchbeck and Surfleet: James Avery (Con), Sally Slade (Con), Elizabethan Sneath (Con).

•Spalding Castle: Gary Taylor (Con).

•Spalding Monks House: George Aley (Con), Angela Newton (Ind).

•Spalding St John’s: Graham Dark (Ind), Roger Perkins (Ind).

•Spalding St Mary’s: Howard Johnson (Con), Gary Porter (Con).

•Spalding St Paul’s: David Ashby (Con), Andrew Miller (Con).

•Spalding Wygate: Roger Gambba-Jones (Con), Christine Lawton (Con).

•Sutton Bridge: Michael Booth (Ind), Chris Brewis (Lincs Ind).

•The Saints: Mick Seymour (Con) - unopposed.

•Whaplode and Holbeach St Johns: Malcolm Chandler (Con), Bob Creese (Con).