Bourne man receives BEM in New Year’s Honours

Have your say

A Bourne man has been recognised in the New Year’s Honour’s list for his services to the community.

Ernest Edmund Wyer has received a BEM for services to the community in Morton and Hanthorpe.

Included in the list are a record number of athletes, following the London Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Gold medalists Bradley Wiggins and Ben Ainslie receive knighthoods.

Para-cyclist Sarah Storey is made a dame, and Jessica Ennis, Victoria Pendleton, Mo Farah and David Weir, all get CBEs.

Joining Mr Wyer are a host of Lincolnshire heroes. The full list is:

Professor Muriel Anita Robinson. Vice-Chancellor, Bishop Grosseteste University. Awarded an OBE for services to Higher Education. (Lincoln, Lincolnshire)

Geoffrey Bartholomew. BEM for services to Youth Football in Grimsby and Cleethorpes. (Grimsby, Lincolnshire)

Barry Buxton. BEM for services to the community in Ropsley Lincolnshire. (Grantham, Lincolnshire)

Mrs Jean Lorna Curtis. BEM for services to the community in Coningsby, Lincolnshire. (Coningsby, Lincolnshire) BEM

James Dixon. BEM for services to the community in Lincolnshire. (Lincolnshire)

Mrs Margaret Joyce Jessop. BEM for charitable services in Boston, Lincolnshire. (Boston, Lincolnshire)

Geoffrey William Winter. For services to Music and to the community in Grantham Lincolnshire. (Grantham, Lincolnshire)

Michael Johnson. Group Training manager, Gelder Group. For services to Training and Skills. (Lincolnshire)

Gerald Parkes. Founder, Parkway Cinemas. For services to the UK Cinema Industry. (Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire)