Strong finish earns Worboys the Westcombe Trophy

Steve Warboys and Joe Slater.
Steve Warboys and Joe Slater.
Have your say

Steve Worboys won one of Spalding Golf Club’s most prestigious individual matchplay knockout competitions, the Westcombe Trophy, after defeating Joe Slater (12) in a good quality final.

Warboys won three of the last four holes to win 1up.

Worboys (27 handicap) was 1up after a nervy front nine holes but Slater, although giving his opponent 15 strokes, then edged in front briefly after winning the 14th.

Warboys, whose short game was excellent throughout, then battled back to take the trophy. The losing semi-finalists were Wayne Flowers and Dave Perrott.

James Carles (22 handicap), although one stroke adrift of the leader going into the final round of the 36-hole Club Trophy strokeplay competition, carded a best nett of the day 71, which gave him a 137 winning total, three strokes clear of the field.

It also earned him a handicap reduction from 22 to 18. In second was Andy Thomas on 141 (66+75), with Keith Williams (66+77)third on 143.

Other leading scores came from, 144 - Charles Lacey. 145 - Matthew Richardson. 146 - Mike Yould. 147 - David Bark. 148 - Nick Edwards.

Fourteen-year-old Hugo Kedzlie finished eighth at the Telegraph BMW Junior Golf Championship at the Quinta do Lago resort in Portugal.

Kedzlie, the youngest player ever to qualify for the event, had rounds of 72, 80 and 79 for a 231 total in the 54-hole strokeplay tournament.

The title was won by Portugal’s number one golfer, 18-year-old Vitor Lopes.

The event suffered horrendous weather conditions on the last two days with continuous heavy rain and storms, which resulted in the European Tour’s Portugal Masters tournament – played a short distance up the coast – being reduced to a 36-hole competition.

Tom Cherry (23 handicap) won the Rabbits Cup after beating John Sharrocks (28) 3&1 in a good quality final.

All-square at the turn, with both players winning three holes apiece, Cherry edged in front by winning the 14th and then sealed the victory by winning both the 16th and 17th.

The losing semi-finalists were Roy Blake and Monty Brittain.

Meanwhile, Lesley Williams won Spalding Golf Club’s Wednesday Medal on countback.

Williams and Angela Roper both recorded a nett 77 with Teresa Browne third on 78.

The Sunday stableford competition saw Hannah Thorold win with 37 points from Theresa Starbuck (36) and Mathilde Kedzlie (34).

In other golf news, the Ladies AGM saw proceedings commencing with the presentation of outstanding prizes.

The following officers were elected: Lady captain Chris Vickers, vice captain Paula Brown, secretary Lainey McLeman, treasurer Julia Colston, competitions secretary-Hannah Thorold.

The position of handicap secretary is not yet filled while Debra Ward, Jackie Bailey Scott and Margaret Barkway have joined the committee.