GOLF: Skipper Ian dishes out Tydd trophies

Latest sport news from the Lincs Free Press and Spalding Guardian,, @lfpsport on Twitter
Latest sport news from the Lincs Free Press and Spalding Guardian,, @lfpsport on Twitter

Gongs galore were dished out as Tydd St Giles Golf Club held their AGM and trophy presentation evening.

Club captain Ian Edrupt, who is looking forward to a successful 2014 with the club, handed out the awards.

Among those honoured at the bash was Mark Whittaker, who was named as the captain’s player of the year for 2013.

• 2013 winners: Spring open – Dennis Savory; Autumn open – Barry Purple; Winter pairs – Mark Whittaker & Johnathon Housley-Stott; International pairs –John Nobbs & Paul Bunton; Scratch Club Championship – Kevin Goude; Handicap Club Championship winner David Worrall, runner up Luke Rowell; Directors Salver – Mark Boughen; Gold Medal Cup – Clive Barber; Rabbits Cup –Jason Young; Summer Matchplay – Daniel Newell; Summer Pairs – Andy Betts & Malcolm Stead; runners up Neil John; Summer Plate –Keith Jakings; Summers Pairs Plate – Derek Hodgson & Terry Pease; Captains player of the year – Mark Whittaker.

Men’s section: January Men’s Medal: Division One: 1st Wayne Alder 77-8=69 (ocb),2nd Tilley 77-8=69; 3rd Mark Gostic 80-9=71. Division Two: 1st Malcolm Pack 84-16=68, 2nd Derek Hodgson 83-13=70; 3rd John Kelledger 85-14=71. Division Three: 1st Bob Mann 90-19=71; 2nd Phil Brown 95-20=75; 3rd Johnathon Housley-Stott 97-22=75.

Seniors’ section: Stableford Trophy: Division One: 1st Noel Bratt 35pts; 2nd Dennis Savory 33pts (ocb); 3rd Dennis Savory 33pts. Division Two: 1st Terry Sambridge 39pts; 2nd Geoff Sturdy 31pts (ocb); 3rd Trevor Sewell 31pts. Division Three: 1st John Gamble 36pts; 2nd Anthony Petch 33pts; 3rd Salvatore DiBella 32pts. Division Four: Roger Oughton 38pts; 2nd Geoff Chappell 37pts; 3rd Tony Illsey 36pts.