GOLF: Reg proves he’s no Turkey with Stableford success

LADIES' NIGHT: Prize winners from the Sutton Brudge ladies' section AGM are pictured (from the left) - Ann Davis; Jackie Taylor, Jen Baines, Margaret Fox, Betty Reeve and Judy Green. Photo supplied
LADIES' NIGHT: Prize winners from the Sutton Brudge ladies' section AGM are pictured (from the left) - Ann Davis; Jackie Taylor, Jen Baines, Margaret Fox, Betty Reeve and Judy Green. Photo supplied
Have your say

Experienced campaigner Reg Stubbs bested a field of 111 entries to win Spalding Golf Club’s Turkey Trot Stableford competition.

The 14-handicapper coped well with the heavy showers at the Surfleet course and led the way with a superb score of 41 points.

That was enough for Stubbs to edge out Ian Starr (8 handicap), who claimed second place with a 40-point haul.

With all playing off the forward tees, some other very good scores were recorded.

They came from: 39pts –Mark Roberts, Phil Packard, Adrian Sibley, Stewart Barnett, Chris Brooks; 38pts – John Camm, Martyn Lakin, John Patton, Peter Orwell, Stuart Parker, Bill Main; 37pts – John Reynolds, Shawn Huggins, David Perrott, Calum Lewis, Joe Slater and Andy Cunnington.

• The men’s winter league programme is now up and running, with almost 40 pairs aiming to be in the top 16 who will then progress to the knockout stage. They are playing for the Course Stewards Cup, which is the prize in March of next year.


• Ladies’ section (October results): Thursday Stableford : 1st Christina Stevenson 39pts; 2nd Penny Wicks 36pts; 3rd Karen Slator 34pts. Sunday Stableford: 1st Nicola Stead 28pts; 2nd Petra Meir 27pts. Thursday Medal: 1st Soon Letchford 71 nett; 2nd Joan Clifton 76 nett; 3rd Sue Racey 79nett. Sunday Medal: 1st Sue Racey 76 nett; 2nd Maria Taylor Vassall (ocb) 82 nett; 3rd Karen Slator 82 nett. TSG October Fun Farm Medal: 1st Soon Letchford 71 nett. Daily Mail Foursomes: 1st Christina Stevenson & Penny Wicks 34pts; 2nd Sue Horspool & Petra Meir 32pts; 3rd Jackie Maton & Soon Letchford 31pts. Texas Scramble: 1st Karen Slator, Petra Meir, Eunice Everitt & Penny Wicks 69.1; 2nd Val Sambridge, Maggie Semper, Linda Daboo & Sylvia Illsley 70.9. Bespoke Oak Mixed Trophy: 1st Soon Letchford & Mick Parker; 2nd Karen Slator & Albert Slator.

• Seniors’ section: Seniors’ Stableford Trophy competition. Division One: 1st Kerbad Daboo 34pts; 2nd Tom Jolly 33pts; Carl Brodie 31pts. Division Two: 1st Raymond Downing 35pts; 2nd ocb Richard Martin 33pts; 3rd John Elliott 33pts. Division Three: 1st Den Wilson 36pts; 2nd Brian Gough 34pts; 3rd Barry Skinner 32pts. Division Four: 1st Terry Cobb 33pts; 2nd Geoff Chappell 30pts; 3rd David Boon 28pts. Seniors’ Monthly Medal: Division One: 1st David Doubtfire 84-17=67; 2nd Dennis Savory 84-12=72 (ocb); 3rd Mick Parker 86-14=72. Division Two: 1st John Ormiston 93-19=74; 2nd Barrie Mutimer 94-19=75; 3rd Raymond Downing 96-19=77. Division Three: 1st Anthony Petch 95-23=72; 2nd Salvatore DiBella 96-23=73; 3rd John Gamble 96-22=74. Division Four: 1st Peter Neve 97-28=69; 2nd Michael Evans 99-25=74; 3rd Trevor Hunt 102-26=76.

• Men’s section: Directors Salver Par Bogey competition: Division One: 1st Ian Edrupt +2 (ocb); 2nd Julian Davie +2, 3rd Dean Wright +1. Division Two: 1st Martin Lindsay even (ocb); 2nd Kevin Dady even; 3rd Lee Smith -1. Division Three: 1st Mark Boughen +3; 2nd Bill Boughen +1; 3rd P Brown -1. October Par Bogey competition: Division One: 1st Nick Holmes +3; 2nd Andy Jackson +1 (ocb); 3rd Ian Edrupt +1. Division Two: 1st John Mallett +3; 2nd Rob Simmonds +2 (ocb); 3rd Bally Sigurdsson +2. November Stableford: Division One: 1st Keith Jakings 41pts; 2nd Gavin Merrison 40pts (ocb); 3rd Andy sleath 40pts. Division Two: 1st Mark Boughen 42pts; 2nd Terry Pease 40pts; 3rd Brendan Docking 37pts. Division Three: 1st David Worrall 39pts; 2nd Karl Barker 36pts; 3rd Barry Hill 35pts.


•Men’s section: October Medal: 1st Steve Steels 69nett; 2nd Ian Weller 70 (ocb); 3rd P Moeller 70. Seniors section: R & S Trophy: 1st Keith Cooper 42pts; 2nd Peter Orbine 40; 3rd Bill Smith 38. Nearest the pins (3rd hole): Bill Sharpe; (4th hole): Wally Lawes; (11th hole): Keith Cooper; (12th hole): John Venters.