FULL STORY: John Hayes is Commons Minister of Year

Energy minister John Hayes MP (right) receives his award.
Energy minister John Hayes MP (right) receives his award.
Have your say

South Holland and The Deepings MP John Hayes has beaten two Secretaries of State to become Commons Minister of The Year.

Mr Hayes, who switched Government departments this year, beat Home Secretary Theresa May and Scotland Secretary Michael Moore.

The awards were organised by The House magazine – Parliament’s own publication – and there were more than 400 votes from MPs and peers.

The awards were devised to highlight excellence in Parliament.

The House magazine says: “After impressing with his mastery of the apprenticeships brief, new Energy Minister John Hayes is becoming known as one of the most effective and entertaining Commons performers.”

Mr Hayes and other parliamentarians received their awards in an Oscars style ceremony on Tuesday night in the Members’ Dining Room in the House of Commons.

The MP said: “It’s something I am very proud of and something I will treasure.

“It’s one of the most prestigious awards because first you have to be nominated, then an editorial panel draws up a shortlist and then last, but by no means least, parliamentarians vote and choose who they want to win.”

The father of two, who is married to Susan, entered the House of Commons in 1997.

He has been a minister since 2010 when the Coalition Government was formed.

Mr Hayes took his award home at the weekend but says it is destined to remain in his parliamentary office.

The House magazine says the Commons Minister of the Year award highlights the “positive work of a minister who has made a significant impact in their role throughout 2012, and been praised by their party, press, or the opposition”.

The awards were sponsored by the Association of British Bookmakers and its chief executive officer, Dirk Vennix, presented Mr Hayes with his award.