Conservatives win county seat in Bourne by-election.

Conservative Sue Woolley won yesterday's county council by-election in Bourne.

She polled 760 votes to represent the Bourne Abbey ward.

Second was independent candidate Helen Powell with 355 votes. She was followed by British National Party candidate David Owens (239 votes), Labour's Roberta Britton (202 votes), Liberal Democrat Peter Morris (198 votes), Green Party candidate Ashley Baxter (42 votes) and UK Independence Party candidate Peter Oldham (41 votes).

A town council seat was also contested yesterday. It went to Sandra Wilson, with 616 votes. The other candidate, Bob Russell, polled 432 votes.