Getting together to celebrate school successes at Holbeach and Crowland

The last prizegiving at University Academy Holbeach's Crowland campus. (SG271112-228NG) To order please ring 01775 765433 or visit

The last prizegiving at University Academy Holbeach's Crowland campus. (SG271112-228NG) To order please ring 01775 765433 or visit

Last year’s GCSE students returned to University Academy Holbeach’s two campuses at Holbeach and Crowland on separate evenings last month for presentations of prizes and exam certificates.

The Academy, established in September last year on the two sites after the closure of St Guthlac School, Crowland and George Farmer Technology and Language College, Holbeach, welcomed Prof Val Braybrook from its sponsor the University of Lincoln as guest speaker on both occasions.

This was the last time the previous year’s school-leavers will have their achievements celebrated at the Crowland campus - next academic 
year they will all be together
at Holbeach.

Academy head teacher Steve Baragwanath said: “In both cases we had a lovely evening celebrating the many successes of year 11, 2011-12. We were grateful to Prof Val Braybrook from the University of Lincoln for attending both evenings as guest speaker. It was a nice 
opportunity to gather everyone together for one final time and to wish them well in their futures.

“We were also grateful to Geoff Capes and Mrs Gill Graper for attending the evening at Holbeach and presenting their special awards to students, supported by lovely singing from the Academy Chamber Choir.”

Prof Braybrook is based at Lincoln University’s National Centre for Food Manufacturing next door to the Academy in Holbeach.


Year 11 presentation evening at the Holbeach campus:

TNH Shield for highest academic achievement overall: Connor Clark, who achieved seven A*s at GCSE.

Geoff Capes Award for skill and determination at sports: Jack Dicker.

Gill Graper Award for endeavour and overcoming barriers to learning: Joseph Bowyer.

Pat Brewer Award for achieving beyond all expectation: Sabrina Price

Year 11 prizegiving at Crowland campus:

The Geoff Hynes History Award: Rhiannon Harris who achieved an A grade at GCSE and is continuing to study History at A Level.

The Bradley Award for Mathematics: Joshua Smith, who achieved an A* for Maths and gained the highest marks out of all nominees.

The Duke of Edinburgh Award Shield: Joshua Smith, for showing a lively, cheerful disposition and good leadership skills, encouraging his group and always acting in a confident responsible manner.

Endeavour Award: Matthew Wright who rose to meet challenges and never complained.

Service Award for outstanding service to the school: Kylie Martin, prefect, student council member and outstanding representative for school.

Leadership Award: Matthew Childs

The Headteacher Award: Stephanie George, who joined the school at Crowland in year nine and became an “outstanding member of the school community”.




Back to the top of the page